Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is the pie I grew up on. But...Mom felt it was unhealthy because of the frying. So she baked the pies - 400 F until golden, about 10 minutes. We still called them fried pies - my children and THEIR children do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I've been making these for about a three months now - every weekend! They are fantastic. The crust is the best crust I have ever tasted. Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used this dough to make fried spinach and beef pizza pies...OMG it was DELICIOUS!!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great fried pies. Crust was like my pie crust except the milk. Had fresh apricots,cooked them in apricot juice and sugar. Thickened them with butter with rubbed in flour. Had to add cornstartch to get thick as I wanted. The juice was bought in a can.[apricot nectar] Best fried pies I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I have only cooked fried pies twice in my life and my family just raved over this recipe. Placing the cooked pies in a shoe box is a great idea, it absorbs some oil from the pies. I will continue to make this for my family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My Mom, who is gone now, made these for as long as I can remember... but the one thing special about hers and everyone she ever fixed them for agreed, was frying them in butter in an iron skillet. Superb addition... if you have never tried this, you really should. Sprinkle both sides with sugar and double stack on plate. A bit tricker in order not to burn but Oh My ... the end result is sooooo worth it!!!! I would suggest if you try this and are making quite a few you may have to wipe your skillet out every so often. Butter frying is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hutson Atkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this with homemade jelly,i used Peach and Strawberry, was pretty good ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
It was so delicious!!! I even poured the extra filling over biscuits and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYBAKER27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made these tonight and they are really good. I modified the recipe slightly. There are only two of us so I cut the recipe in half. I cut the apricots into 4 pieces before cooking and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. A good way to ensure your pies don't open while cooking is to moisten the inner edges with water before folding. Fold so the top edge is just slightly shy of the bottom edge fold bottom edge over top edge and use tines of fork moistened in cold water to seal. After cooking lay on wire rack above paper towels till drained. Sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving/storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
even my husband liked this. i couldn find dried peachs so i cooked a can of peaches down and used it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States