Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These are delicious and such a change from the usual "pie" type dessert. I only used apricots, and they didn't boil down so I just put the lot in the food processor at the end to puree. Worked great. Should have made more ! I also added almond extract to the apricot paste at the end ! Thanks, this one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used to make fried pies years ago, I kind of forgot about them... this is the most authentic recipe and best one I have seen...How about using Buttermilk instead of milk? Or even icy water? would that make crust even flakier? a stick of cinnamon and a vanilla bean in the boiling fruit? (by the way you can do it with fresh fruits just diminish the water to cover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Substituting more apricots and deleting the peaches with give it a more tart taste. Just like grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i tried these with apples, and they fell apart while frying. i always get these great ideas to make doughnuts or fried pies, and i always regret it because of the mess and all the greasy food. If i were you, i would rather go to the store and buy those microwaveable mini apple pies with the glaze. They are tasty, quick, and no mess! Trust me, i would choose home-made over store bought any day so this recipe has to be disappointing for me to go to store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is the best pie recipe ever....I even use the crust recipe for all other pies from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Awesome crust thank you for the recipe! Instead of regular shortening I used butter flavored shortening. mmmmm mmmm, that's all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is the pie I grew up on. But...Mom felt it was unhealthy because of the frying. So she baked the pies - 400 F until golden, about 10 minutes. We still called them fried pies - my children and THEIR children do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I've been making these for about a three months now - every weekend! They are fantastic. The crust is the best crust I have ever tasted. Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used this dough to make fried spinach and beef pizza pies...OMG it was DELICIOUS!!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great fried pies. Crust was like my pie crust except the milk. Had fresh apricots,cooked them in apricot juice and sugar. Thickened them with butter with rubbed in flour. Had to add cornstartch to get thick as I wanted. The juice was bought in a can.[apricot nectar] Best fried pies I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States