Apricot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cameyg
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe was super easy and really good. I made this with two preschoolers and it only took a few minutes to put together. We used premade pie crust but followed the directions on the filling. It turned out really well. It is a tart pie great with icecream or you might want to add more sugar if you like it more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I would slice it in smaller pieces next time. The peels made it harder to eat with a fork--one-handed since I'm always holding a baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I've only had apricot pie once in my life and it was amazing so when i found this i knew i had to try it.. This was AMAZING. I did not use this crust recipe but used the filling. Only thing i did different was to use 1/4 cup more sugar. Was stlll pretty tart which i love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My family said it was better than Claim Jumper's... that's huge! Very delicious! I made a few modifications. One, I used a pre-made frozen pie crust. Two, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Three, I used orange juice instead of lemon since I didn't have lemon juice at the time. It made for more sweetness! Four, I found a crumble topping recipe and used that instead of pastry topping since I had a pre-made crust. SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe, even without modifications. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar because our apricots are quite tart. I used partially thawed fruit and baked it for 70 minutes--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I like that the filling was not overly sweet and retained some tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is one of the best pies I've ever made - absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as written except I purchased the pie crust since I'm terrible at making them! For those who said it wasn't sweet enough or the peels were tough were probably not using fresh-picked apricots straight from a tree. The store-bought apricots are terrible and will make your pie inferior to fresh-picked! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Used apricots fresh from the tree, selecting more for slightly overripe ones. Substituted 1/2 cup firm fresh red plums. Used plain shortening instead of butter flavored and allspice instead of cinnamon. Doubled the lemon juice. Wow, I thought I'd stuck to the recipe pretty closely, but I guess not! It did come out PERFECT, though - so perfect I made it again two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I had frozen apricots in the freezer waiting for canning and decided to make this pie instead. I used stevia for the sugar component and it was delicious. We ate it with home made vanilla frozen yogurt and it was yummy!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was very yummy. I added a pinch of allspice and nutmeg. It was so juicy. I made it with frozen pie crust though and put a lattice top on it. I love the tartness of the apricots. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States