Apricot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My family said it was better than Claim Jumper's... that's huge! Very delicious! I made a few modifications. One, I used a pre-made frozen pie crust. Two, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Three, I used orange juice instead of lemon since I didn't have lemon juice at the time. It made for more sweetness! Four, I found a crumble topping recipe and used that instead of pastry topping since I had a pre-made crust. SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cameyg
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe was super easy and really good. I made this with two preschoolers and it only took a few minutes to put together. We used premade pie crust but followed the directions on the filling. It turned out really well. It is a tart pie great with icecream or you might want to add more sugar if you like it more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The texture and appearance of this pie were appealing, it lacked taste. It needed about 1/2 - 2/3 cup sugar, and more cinnamon, maybe 2 tsp. I will try this recipe again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I would give this four stars, but I altered it to our family's liking by making it with a crumble topping as someone else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I would slice it in smaller pieces next time. The peels made it harder to eat with a fork--one-handed since I'm always holding a baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yum! Easy to make, simple ingredients. Tasty - very tart, but I really liked that about it. Served it warm with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I like that the filling was not overly sweet and retained some tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Exactly what I was hoping it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
When the other reviewers say this is tart... WOW, it is SOUR-TART. I didn't pay the other reviewers comment about tartness much attention, but boy, I wish I did. It was so tart that even with the ice cream, no one in my family could finish their piece of pie. If I had to make it again, I would double the sugar, at least. The crust was good. Also, I thought it would turn out alot like a peach pie, but the texture of the apricots ends up being more gloppy than a peach pie, so that wasn't as good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is one of the best pies I've ever made - absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as written except I purchased the pie crust since I'm terrible at making them! For those who said it wasn't sweet enough or the peels were tough were probably not using fresh-picked apricots straight from a tree. The store-bought apricots are terrible and will make your pie inferior to fresh-picked! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States