Apricot Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Delicate flavor, not as strongly "apricot" tasting as I had hoped, but still very good. I doubled the recipe, and it didn't take it long to completely disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Good, but not very apricot-y. I used several fresh skinned apricots, pureed one cup, and then finely diced one more apricot to add some texture. The flavor was still barely there, but a good tasting bread anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I tried this recipe because I had some canned apricots I wasn't sure what to do with. I would absolutely make this again. The whole family loved it. I did make 2 changes; I sustituted margarine for the shortening and I substituted pecans for the walnuts. It was moist and the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I was looking for several fresh apricot recipes to use up my bumper crop from my tree. I made this using fresh apricots (used two cups sliced and heated the apricots in a saucepan on the stovetop to release the juices and make it so that I could actually puree the apricots). The flavor is interesting. It tastes very strongly of apricots by using fresh. It's not my favorite, so I'll keep looking for a way to use the fresh apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
The texture of this bread was very nice, not too heavy and moist. I thought it was overall lacking flavour..needs some cinnamon perhaps and vanilla. The apricot flavour didn't really come through. Will likely stick with banana or date nut bread instead of making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this using peaches instead of apricots. Also made muffins instead of a loaf. But I thought it came out rather well. i would definitely do it again. ( I did also add a tsp of vanilla and a tsp of cinnamon plus blend) Also a side note, it also works well with other fruits. I made a 2nd batch with a can of pears and added in some dried blueberries. Very good too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I was curious about this recipe; never made a bread from apricots before. It was a success! I'm vegan so I had to make a few changes but it came out very moist with the perfect amount of sweetness. My only comment, which is minor, is that it doesn't possess an overwhelming apricot flavor. Once again though, it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious! I served this at a ladies social with RAVE reviews! So many people wanted the recipe! I used fresh apricots as I have a tree, and had them all mashed, so I just measured a couple of heaping cups instead of the can... experimented with a few different spices - ginger, cloves, cinnamon, poppy seeds -- not exactly all in the same batch. Thanks for a DELIGHTFULLY well received treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I don't know if it made a difference or not, but I used fresh apricots. It tasted more like squash bread instead of apricot. We did not like this bread and probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Nice texture, very moist, but you couldn't really taste the apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States