Apricot Nectar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making this cake for over 30 years. It wouldn't be Easter in our family without it. It is heavenly! Some suggestions for those who have had issues with the recipe. Cut the oil in half and it will turn out fine. Use the cooking spray with flour in it to lessen sticking. I cut the glaze recipe by a third and I poke the still-warm cake all over with a fork and slowly pour the glaze on. You don't want to use a cool cake as the crust hardens and won't absorb the glaze as easily. I also put the cake on a cake stand with a lip on it and glaze the cake with parchment strips under it until glazing is done. However, this is meant to have a drippy look anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I HAVE MADE A VERSION OF THIS CAKE FOR YEARS; IT WAS ALWAYS MY FAVORITE,AND PEOPLE THAT DON'T LIKE CAKES IN GENERAL, LOVE IT. FOR THE PAST 3 1/2 YEARS, I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND KERN'S APRICOT NECTAR HERE IN LOUISIANA; YESTERDAY I FOUND IT IN A LOCAL STORE, AND TODAY I'M BAKING THIS CAKE AS A BIRTHDAY CAKE FOR MY 96 YR. OLD AUNT. I WILL MAKE ANOTHER ONE AS SOON AS I FINISH, BECAUSE I NEED MY "FIX" AFTER 3 1/2 YRS. OF NOT BEING ABLE TO BAKE IT!~IT IS SO MOIST AND IMPROVES WITH AGE. I USE LEMON SUPREME CAKE MIX, AND A BOX OF APRICOT JELLO MIX; I MIX THE JELLO (DRY) WITH MY CAKE MIX, BEFORE ADDING THE OTHER INGREDIENTS. I ALSO USE ONE CUP OF WESSON OIL AND ONE CUP OF APRICOT NECTAR. I MIX MY GLAZE WITH APRICOT NECTAR AND LEMON JUICE; I POKE HOLES IN THE CAKE WHILE STILL IN THE PAN, AND POUR HALF THE GLAZE ON THE CAKE WHILE STILL WARM; THEN, I USE THE LAST HALF OF THE GLAZE TO DRIZZLE OVER THE CAKE AFTER IT IS REMOVED FROM THE PAN AND COOLED. TOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED IN THIS VERSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwell Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
moist, sweet, pound perfect lemony-heaven! Added poppyseeds was a complete hit. My son shoveled the last 3 pieces into his mouth the next day as he shot out the door to be left unseen. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great recipe used mango nectar, orange jell-o followed instructions let bake for 60min. icing a little to lemoney for me but really moist and fluffy great taste!right in the recipe box.Great again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This cake totally fell apart on me! It was such a waste of time...almost 2 hours spent and I have no dessert to bring for easter dinner! I am going to attempt to make frosting and frost it back together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tennessee jenn
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Easy and Tasty. No-stick spray worked fine. I used canola oil and reduced it to 1/2 cup since it's thinner than vegetable oil. It's my Dad's favorite, so I made him one for father's day. Everyone gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Great recipe...Moist and very tasty next time I'll add poppy seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bagley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
this cake is to die for!! Very tasty and elegant at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This was a VERY moist cake, to the point that I had some trouble with it sticking to my bundt pan (which never happens to me). The flavor was gentle apricot and yummy. **I substituted apricot gelatin for the lemon which may have diluted the "punch" the flavor could have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I made this recipe for my mom, who loves apricots and lemons, she went abosolutely nuts over this. She requested it for her birthday and even my brother, who doesn't like cake, ate it and enjoyed it. It's a party for your tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States