Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
yummy, filling, healthy and cheap! i listened to the comments and added extra cumin & thyme....then wished i hadn't, i think the soup would have been perfectly balanced without it. i used exactly the amount of apricots as per the recipe, chopping them finely, and didnt blend for a chunky soup. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe, but it's really tasty! It has a combination of ingredients than seem unusual, but meld well. I didn't puree any of the soup since the lentils broke down enough during the cooking process. Also, I cannot taste the apricots so I think you'd be safe in omitting them if you don't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I added a tsp of Garam Masala as well as one Tbsp honey, just for fun. Everyone loved it, and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Mind-blowing. Very unusual and tasty dish, excellent as leftovers as well. Made it with the lamb tagine and had a moroccan night. I added extra apricots and liked the additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I cooked the soup in a pressure cooker. (I grew up in India and we always cook lentils in a pressure cooker.) I made this ahead of time for a dinner party at my house. When it was time to serve, the soup had thickened to large lump. I diluted with chicken broth. I had four guests and they all agreeed that this soup was the bomb. It was really yummy. Cannot wait to make it again. However, if you plan to make it ahead of time, you may want to reduce the lentils to one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Love it! Original recipe only yields 3 servings for our family. Needs the spices doubled. Needs more stock because the lentils sucked up the liquid pretty good. I used half a can of peeled & diced tomatoes instead of 3 roma or one regular tomato works fine too. Delicious- this will be on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
yummy soup! i felt it needed a little something afterwards, like a little more 'zip'. so i put a pinch of curry powder in and (surprise!) a pinch of cinnamon! i feel like the combination brought this soup together. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was one of the best soups I've ever had. I only made a few changes: 1) I added 1/2 of a 16 oz. can of drained/rinsed diced tomatoes (didn't have any fresh). Also, used 4 cups chicken broth because that was all I had. 3) Did not add lemon juice. Otherwise, followed it completely and it was excellent. My wife loved it, I loved it. Immediately made a second batch to take leftovers to work for lunch this week. Such a creamy texture (pureed it) and sweet/smoky flavor. New favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. I wasn't expecting more than an ok result as I don't consider lentils the most exciting food, but I went back for seconds, thirds and even fourths! Changes I made were: replaced the chicken broth with water and a tablespoon of vegetarian chicken-style seasoning, replaced the fresh tomato with a can of chopped tomatoes(drained) and used the juice of half a small lime. My husband loved this as well, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This soup is a joy to eat and make! I can't believe a soup with apricots is possible but it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States