Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this last New Year's Day & finally decided to make it again exactly 1 year later! I didn't use all of the dried apricots...now I wish I had. I'm not a big fan of cumin, so I only added a tiny bit. This year when I sauteed the onions & garlic, I also added a cut up chicken breast & added that to the blended along with everything else. The soup came out very thick. I love a thick soup, but will probably thin my leftovers out a bit with some chicken broth tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a recipe which strangely pulled together in the end. I started off with a bit more broth than called for. My lentils didn't seem to be getting soft and I was losing all my liquid, so I added another can... and another can ... and still they didn't get as soft as I would have liked. I doubled the cumin which, had I not added the extra two cans, I would have definitely regretted, but since I DID add the extra broth the extra cumin was fine. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes since that is what I had on hand. At first I emulsified about 3/4 of the soup but the lentils that weren't emulsified were NOT soft enough so I did the rest. It tasted okay, but not great, and then I remembered the lemon juice. THATs where things got strange. The addition of the lemon juice completely turned my "okay" soup into a "really really good" soup. Go figure. I'll make it again, probably, but never for guests (b/c the end result looked kind of like dog food). BTW, the apricots all but disappeared... I never tasted one. Oh, and it fed 2 adults and one child with only a small bowl left, so if you're feeding more than that double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good soup! I doubled the spices as suggested as well as a tad more liquid. I was expecting the apricot flavor to be more prominent, but it was subtle. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious! It sounds strange initially, but once you try it, it's absolutely amazing. Very easy to make. I chopped up the apricots into small pieces first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I don't know why it took me so long to rate this. We love it, and we've served it several times over to guests. Everyone raves about this soup. We maybe have added a few more apricots and a few more lentils. I don't really know. Cooking is an art, not a science, right? This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This soup was amazing. It was very easy to make. We served it for friends and it was a big hit. It had the perfect balance of sweet and savory and it had a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I love this! The only two things I do differently: I don't puree it. Wish I could, but I don't have a blender! Also, I use veggie stock (I'm a vegetarian). Very good... sometimes I crave it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I've made this recipe several times already. I always make a double batch since it's good left over lunch on those rainy days. The only change I made to the recipe is I puree the whole thing. I use my immersion blender right in the pot. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Wow the cheese makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmikamoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States