Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Patty Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious. It has a sweet flavor, which at first was a little surprising. It was wonderful, though. It will definitely be used again. I added a little extra water as people said it was thick, and a little extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was ok. I think it is just a little more hyped up than it needs to be...I mean...lentils are still lentils...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This soup is awesome. I made it and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was my first time cooking with lentils, and my family was pleasantly surprised. This recipe has very good flavor. I followed directions as stated in the recipe, and mine turned out thick. It was way to thick to be a soup, so i made some rice to have with it. Didi end up adding more cumin and thyme at the end after tasting it. May try adding 1/2 cup dried apricots next time instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
a very tasty way to eat red lentils that is easy to prepare with a few ingredients. found i needed more liquid than the recipe called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this last New Year's Day & finally decided to make it again exactly 1 year later! I didn't use all of the dried apricots...now I wish I had. I'm not a big fan of cumin, so I only added a tiny bit. This year when I sauteed the onions & garlic, I also added a cut up chicken breast & added that to the blended along with everything else. The soup came out very thick. I love a thick soup, but will probably thin my leftovers out a bit with some chicken broth tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a recipe which strangely pulled together in the end. I started off with a bit more broth than called for. My lentils didn't seem to be getting soft and I was losing all my liquid, so I added another can... and another can ... and still they didn't get as soft as I would have liked. I doubled the cumin which, had I not added the extra two cans, I would have definitely regretted, but since I DID add the extra broth the extra cumin was fine. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes since that is what I had on hand. At first I emulsified about 3/4 of the soup but the lentils that weren't emulsified were NOT soft enough so I did the rest. It tasted okay, but not great, and then I remembered the lemon juice. THATs where things got strange. The addition of the lemon juice completely turned my "okay" soup into a "really really good" soup. Go figure. I'll make it again, probably, but never for guests (b/c the end result looked kind of like dog food). BTW, the apricots all but disappeared... I never tasted one. Oh, and it fed 2 adults and one child with only a small bowl left, so if you're feeding more than that double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good soup! I doubled the spices as suggested as well as a tad more liquid. I was expecting the apricot flavor to be more prominent, but it was subtle. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious! It sounds strange initially, but once you try it, it's absolutely amazing. Very easy to make. I chopped up the apricots into small pieces first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I don't know why it took me so long to rate this. We love it, and we've served it several times over to guests. Everyone raves about this soup. We maybe have added a few more apricots and a few more lentils. I don't really know. Cooking is an art, not a science, right? This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States