Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is such a versatile, tasty recipe. I couldn't find dried apricots, so I used dried mangos instead...it turned out great! I also wanted to use up some leftover pinto beans, so I subbed 2 cups of those for the lentils. I made mine a bit more asian, so I used a 1/2 cup OJ, mandarian seasoning, ginger, and added some extra garlic. I used 1 15oz. can diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and added in some leftover wheat rotini that I had to make it a bit more hearty. I also added 1 tsp crushed red pepper to spice things up a bit. Thanks for the idea to use dried fruit in a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Simply one of my favorite recipes. This is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I think I rarely enough give 3 or less stars, but this is the case when the recipe with glorious rewiews failed for us. All family agree, the soup was totally bland for our taste. The apricots after simmering for 30-40 min were overcooked and didn't give much flavor. Sorry, but this soup was just ordinary and tasteless for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
the best lentil soup i have ever made! i added double spices, 1/2c quinoa, and one sweet potato. a new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I added 8 cups of veggie broth to satisfy 2 cups of lentisl. It still came out a very thick soup. I also used a can of petite cut tomatoes and double the amount of apricots. Overall it was excellent! It reminded me of chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
REALLY GOOD!! this is a great recipe for lentils. i used green lentils, doubled the spices, used cherry tomatoes seeds and all, and doubled the lemon juice. Don't skip the lemon juice because it really adds a great flavor. i also used 1/2 cup of apricots and chopped them up in my bullet to very small pieces..it worked perfectly. Lastly, I did puree 1/2 the soup in my bullet just before serving and found that to be very important to give the soup some body. i will be making this recipe for many more dinners!!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I LOVE this soup! It's easy to convert to vegetarian; just sub veggie broth for the chicken broth. The flavor does not suffer for the substitution. My only suggestion/recommendation would be to finely chop the apricots before adding; you don't want big chunks of them in the soup. (Use a greased knife or oiled scissors for this.) DO NOT omit the lemon juice; it adds a very important flavor dimension. Thank you, Karena, for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was very good! The apricots added a nice sweet taste. I didn't add tomatoes because they aren't in season, aside from that I followed the recipe as is. Very easy and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Really good flavor! Used a can of diced tomatoes, 2 cups of green lentils (8oz bag), double cumin, and 2 more cups of broth. Also did not puree at the end. Definitely will try next time paired with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious. It has a sweet flavor, which at first was a little surprising. It was wonderful, though. It will definitely be used again. I added a little extra water as people said it was thick, and a little extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States