Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This soup was awesome. The only issue we had was hubby added a little more apricot than it called for an it was a little too sweet. Not the recipes' fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My family & I loved it this soup. I realized I was out of cumin so I used 3/4 tsp. of curry powder instread. It was delish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I used brown lentils, because that's what I had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
We love this recipe; especially for when our gluten-free friends come over for dinner. I add one or two sweet potatoes (cubed) to add heartiness, and I double the spices and garlic as other reviewers stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
One of our favorite soups! I don't puree any of it, and it is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this dish. I've made it exactly following the recipe and another time I made it with pre-cooked lentils that I had. Both times it was very good. I love it served with grilled cheese smeared with sweet chutney or toasted bread with apricot preserves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexykatmeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is such a versatile, tasty recipe. I couldn't find dried apricots, so I used dried mangos instead...it turned out great! I also wanted to use up some leftover pinto beans, so I subbed 2 cups of those for the lentils. I made mine a bit more asian, so I used a 1/2 cup OJ, mandarian seasoning, ginger, and added some extra garlic. I used 1 15oz. can diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and added in some leftover wheat rotini that I had to make it a bit more hearty. I also added 1 tsp crushed red pepper to spice things up a bit. Thanks for the idea to use dried fruit in a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Simply one of my favorite recipes. This is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I think I rarely enough give 3 or less stars, but this is the case when the recipe with glorious rewiews failed for us. All family agree, the soup was totally bland for our taste. The apricots after simmering for 30-40 min were overcooked and didn't give much flavor. Sorry, but this soup was just ordinary and tasteless for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
the best lentil soup i have ever made! i added double spices, 1/2c quinoa, and one sweet potato. a new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Lutkenhoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States