Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Absolutely delicious! I used canned lentils which cut the cooking time down significantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
Wonderful soup -- and much more interestig than run-of-the-mill lentil soup. I doubled the amount of cumin and added some ancho chili powder to make it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
I've made this a few times and it's always been a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This has been awesome both times I've made it, getting rave reviews from my friends. I've doubled the amount of cumin & consider the tomatoes optional. I also add everything except the lemon (also double the lemon) up front, and this seems to help cut down the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This was good! my husband and 12 month old liked it. It was a nice twist to have soup that was a little sweet. I used canned tomatoes and chicken bouillon - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Incredible soup!! Made it for company and served it with fresh wheat bread--everyone loved it. A nice change from other lentil soups. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Don't make the mistake I did: I added extra apricots on the second try and the soup was far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Looking at the ingredients this soup looks a little unusual but the resulting taste is fantastic! I will be revisiting this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Very good and rich in flavor. Nice on a cold winter night. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Made this soup tonight and it was awesome. i've been into experimenting with moroccan flavors and recipes lately and this soup, with it's slightly sweet and very rich flavor definately has a moroccan influence. The modifications I made included using regular instead of red lentils, doubled up on the cumin as suggested by another reviewer, and I added an extra tomato. I also added the spices and tomato to the onion and garlic saute and sauteed until it started to stick. Then I de-glazed with a touch of red wine and added all the liquid and lentils. This sped up the cooking time a bit though I ended up letting it simmer for a couple hours because I had the time. Next time I will double the recipe because my girlfriend and I plowed through almost the whole recipe all by ourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States