Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Mind-blowing. Very unusual and tasty dish, excellent as leftovers as well. Made it with the lamb tagine and had a moroccan night. I added extra apricots and liked the additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I cooked the soup in a pressure cooker. (I grew up in India and we always cook lentils in a pressure cooker.) I made this ahead of time for a dinner party at my house. When it was time to serve, the soup had thickened to large lump. I diluted with chicken broth. I had four guests and they all agreeed that this soup was the bomb. It was really yummy. Cannot wait to make it again. However, if you plan to make it ahead of time, you may want to reduce the lentils to one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Love it! Original recipe only yields 3 servings for our family. Needs the spices doubled. Needs more stock because the lentils sucked up the liquid pretty good. I used half a can of peeled & diced tomatoes instead of 3 roma or one regular tomato works fine too. Delicious- this will be on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
yummy soup! i felt it needed a little something afterwards, like a little more 'zip'. so i put a pinch of curry powder in and (surprise!) a pinch of cinnamon! i feel like the combination brought this soup together. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was one of the best soups I've ever had. I only made a few changes: 1) I added 1/2 of a 16 oz. can of drained/rinsed diced tomatoes (didn't have any fresh). Also, used 4 cups chicken broth because that was all I had. 3) Did not add lemon juice. Otherwise, followed it completely and it was excellent. My wife loved it, I loved it. Immediately made a second batch to take leftovers to work for lunch this week. Such a creamy texture (pureed it) and sweet/smoky flavor. New favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. I wasn't expecting more than an ok result as I don't consider lentils the most exciting food, but I went back for seconds, thirds and even fourths! Changes I made were: replaced the chicken broth with water and a tablespoon of vegetarian chicken-style seasoning, replaced the fresh tomato with a can of chopped tomatoes(drained) and used the juice of half a small lime. My husband loved this as well, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This soup is a joy to eat and make! I can't believe a soup with apricots is possible but it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Great recipe. I also noticed that this turned out very thick, which was fine. I added a little extra apricot but my husband said he could not taste it... he loved it anyways. I could not find red lentils so I used the regular kind. I also like to add to the flavor by increasing the spices. Very easy and VERY filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
very yummy. very easy to make. I doubled the spices and I think next time I'll add some more apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What a wonderful tasting soup. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I made it exactly as posted and I was very pleased. The apricot is lovely with the lentils. I can't wait to eat this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States