Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Really great flavors. I haven't had this soup in years and I was so happy to rediscover it here. I used vegetable broth and added the 1/2 cup of quinoa. Excellent vegan soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Really yummy, and a nice change from other lentil soups I've made. I agree with others that you really don't need to put any of the soup in a blender to puree. I found that the lentils got quite mushy at the bottom of the pot, and by simply stirring well, the soup became quite smooth. I also doubled the cumin, as others suggested, too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! Wouldn't change one ingredient!! My husband is very grateful I have found All Recipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
yummy, filling, healthy and cheap! i listened to the comments and added extra cumin & thyme....then wished i hadn't, i think the soup would have been perfectly balanced without it. i used exactly the amount of apricots as per the recipe, chopping them finely, and didnt blend for a chunky soup. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe, but it's really tasty! It has a combination of ingredients than seem unusual, but meld well. I didn't puree any of the soup since the lentils broke down enough during the cooking process. Also, I cannot taste the apricots so I think you'd be safe in omitting them if you don't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I added a tsp of Garam Masala as well as one Tbsp honey, just for fun. Everyone loved it, and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Mind-blowing. Very unusual and tasty dish, excellent as leftovers as well. Made it with the lamb tagine and had a moroccan night. I added extra apricots and liked the additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I cooked the soup in a pressure cooker. (I grew up in India and we always cook lentils in a pressure cooker.) I made this ahead of time for a dinner party at my house. When it was time to serve, the soup had thickened to large lump. I diluted with chicken broth. I had four guests and they all agreeed that this soup was the bomb. It was really yummy. Cannot wait to make it again. However, if you plan to make it ahead of time, you may want to reduce the lentils to one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Love it! Original recipe only yields 3 servings for our family. Needs the spices doubled. Needs more stock because the lentils sucked up the liquid pretty good. I used half a can of peeled & diced tomatoes instead of 3 roma or one regular tomato works fine too. Delicious- this will be on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
yummy soup! i felt it needed a little something afterwards, like a little more 'zip'. so i put a pinch of curry powder in and (surprise!) a pinch of cinnamon! i feel like the combination brought this soup together. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States