Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I'm sorry, I really wanted to like this, but what came out was super bland! I do like a lot of flavor (spices and heat) in my food though. I ended up adding a couple handfuls of cilantro, a serrano chili, turmeric, and coriander. With these additions I think it's a yummy soup - but it hardly resembles the recipe I set out to make. Thanks for an interesting idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this recipe because I had dried apricots that I wanted to use up. I wasn't expecting this soup to be so outstanding! I followed the recipe but used green lentils instead of red just because I couldn't find them. I will make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
that a great and healthy recipe! fast and easy to make, tastes just perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Really great flavors. I haven't had this soup in years and I was so happy to rediscover it here. I used vegetable broth and added the 1/2 cup of quinoa. Excellent vegan soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Really yummy, and a nice change from other lentil soups I've made. I agree with others that you really don't need to put any of the soup in a blender to puree. I found that the lentils got quite mushy at the bottom of the pot, and by simply stirring well, the soup became quite smooth. I also doubled the cumin, as others suggested, too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! Wouldn't change one ingredient!! My husband is very grateful I have found All Recipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
yummy, filling, healthy and cheap! i listened to the comments and added extra cumin & thyme....then wished i hadn't, i think the soup would have been perfectly balanced without it. i used exactly the amount of apricots as per the recipe, chopping them finely, and didnt blend for a chunky soup. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe, but it's really tasty! It has a combination of ingredients than seem unusual, but meld well. I didn't puree any of the soup since the lentils broke down enough during the cooking process. Also, I cannot taste the apricots so I think you'd be safe in omitting them if you don't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I added a tsp of Garam Masala as well as one Tbsp honey, just for fun. Everyone loved it, and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Mind-blowing. Very unusual and tasty dish, excellent as leftovers as well. Made it with the lamb tagine and had a moroccan night. I added extra apricots and liked the additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States