Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I added 8 cups of veggie broth to satisfy 2 cups of lentisl. It still came out a very thick soup. I also used a can of petite cut tomatoes and double the amount of apricots. Overall it was excellent! It reminded me of chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
REALLY GOOD!! this is a great recipe for lentils. i used green lentils, doubled the spices, used cherry tomatoes seeds and all, and doubled the lemon juice. Don't skip the lemon juice because it really adds a great flavor. i also used 1/2 cup of apricots and chopped them up in my bullet to very small pieces..it worked perfectly. Lastly, I did puree 1/2 the soup in my bullet just before serving and found that to be very important to give the soup some body. i will be making this recipe for many more dinners!!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I LOVE this soup! It's easy to convert to vegetarian; just sub veggie broth for the chicken broth. The flavor does not suffer for the substitution. My only suggestion/recommendation would be to finely chop the apricots before adding; you don't want big chunks of them in the soup. (Use a greased knife or oiled scissors for this.) DO NOT omit the lemon juice; it adds a very important flavor dimension. Thank you, Karena, for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was very good! The apricots added a nice sweet taste. I didn't add tomatoes because they aren't in season, aside from that I followed the recipe as is. Very easy and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Really good flavor! Used a can of diced tomatoes, 2 cups of green lentils (8oz bag), double cumin, and 2 more cups of broth. Also did not puree at the end. Definitely will try next time paired with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious. It has a sweet flavor, which at first was a little surprising. It was wonderful, though. It will definitely be used again. I added a little extra water as people said it was thick, and a little extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was ok. I think it is just a little more hyped up than it needs to be...I mean...lentils are still lentils...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This soup is awesome. I made it and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was my first time cooking with lentils, and my family was pleasantly surprised. This recipe has very good flavor. I followed directions as stated in the recipe, and mine turned out thick. It was way to thick to be a soup, so i made some rice to have with it. Didi end up adding more cumin and thyme at the end after tasting it. May try adding 1/2 cup dried apricots next time instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
a very tasty way to eat red lentils that is easy to prepare with a few ingredients. found i needed more liquid than the recipe called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States