Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious! I used 1 1/2 c. petite diced tomatoes, which I added with lentils and vegetable broth. After reading other reviews, I upped the cumin to 1 tsp. and added one diced sweet potato. Simmering all ingredients together, I needed to add 2-3 c. water, but it was still very thick and tasty. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I fond this very bland. The apricots added nothing to the flavor and it was so thick it was more like a stew than a soup. Threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was good! I have to say I disagree with those who said increasing the amount of apricots made it too sweet. I only used the 1/3 cup (finely chopped) apricots that the recipe called for, and I could barely taste any apricot/sweetness at all in the finished product. Next time I will definitely increase to 1/2 cup at least. That said, the soup was super delicious! I doubled the thyme and cumin (as suggested by many reviewers), and I'm glad I did. Perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
SO AMAZING. I've been trying to enjoy lentils for so long but always used recipes that left me disappointed. UNTIL I FOUND THIS. Om nom nom. I followed exactly as is, except used canned tomatoes and doubled the spices. Definitely pair this with a whole grain of some sort - over rice, with bread, etc. It becomes a meal that way and leaves you full for quite some time. Will be making this one again, for sure. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is great! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow, when it's had a chance to get even better. I doubled the cumin, but kept the thyme at 1/2 tsp. I also used veggie broth, since I'm a vegetarian. I didn't seed or peel the tomatoes and didn't blend half of the soup. It was still great. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I would give this recipe SIX stars if I could! I have been giddy ever since we sat down to dinner. We almost went out to eat tonight, and we were all so glad we stayed home and tried out this recipe. The sweetness of the apricot blended with the savories was just heavenly. I added a cubed sweet potato as another reviewer recommended, and the heartiness was perfect for this cold and crisp day. Love, love, love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
awesome, comforting, tasty. i also doubled the seasoning and used canned tomatoes (i only added 4 c of broth to make up for the canned tomato juice). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I love the ingenuity of this soup. Followed recipe to a tee, but next time I won't blend it (as it looked much more appetizing before pureeing it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I forgot the lemon juice at the end, but this still was fantastic. Very thick, next time I might use more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States