Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I came across this recipe in my ongoing quest to find foods for someone on a pureed diet. Potato, cream, and cheese based soups were getting a bit old, and pureed bean in general doesn't really need to be soup. This one seemed different without being off the rails. SUCCESS! Another soup to add to the arsenal. I was worried about the apricot, but read the reviews and was careful not to add too much. Since the recipe doesn't say what to do with the apricot, I diced them fairly small, and measured that way. The taste was very slight, but enough to give it character. I didn't peel the tomatoes either. Only one tablespoon of lemon, and I thought it was way more than enough. Red lentils are kind of important as they break down better. Found them at Sprouts whole foods. I used a stick blender to puree the whole batch, and it made a wonderfully thick, tasty soup, perfect for what I was looking for. Good protein and fiber are a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I agree on doubling the amount of seasonings and to be careful about not adding too many extra apricots because it can make the soup too sweet. I made this with a homemade vegetable stock, so I also had carrots and celery in it and thankfully the carrots didn't make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Pretty sure mine, with brown lentils as red seem to be unavailable at our 4 area groceries, looked unappealing after being puréed. Did not think the lemon juice helped in that overall impression either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
very unflavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good! Based on the other reviews I also doubled the spices and I used fresh apricots instead of dried. I waited to add them until the second part of the cooking. For a little variety, I only used 1 cup of lentils and 1/4 cup of Teff--great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was just ok, I've made much more satisfying lentils before. This could have been because I used fresh apricots ( almost a cup). I also added cayenne powder, turmeric and a bit of curry powder all of which lent the soup a spiced flavor, but overall this just didn't wow me. I will have to try it with dried apricots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It took me a while to come around to this soup, but after a few bowls and a couple of days in the fridge its flavor has melded and I'm really liking it. Part of the initial issue was due to the canned tomatoes which left a tinny top note that thankfully went away. I also think I'd have preferred vegetable broth in it for a purer vegetable essence (and this is coming from the consummate carnivore). In addition to the canned tomatoes I followed advice to add curry powder and sweet potato. I didn't find the apricots too sweet. Maybe some people are using sweetened apricots and that accounts for the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love lentils and have several favorite soup recipes, but will not count this as one of them. It was good, but not fabulous. My husband is not a great fan of lentils, but he loves apricots, so I hoped to entice him by adding more than 1/2 cup (instead of 1/3 cup) called for in the recipe. Even so, their flavor was hardly noticeable. I used canned tomatoes, which was extra liquid, but still needed to add another cup and 1/2 of broth to give it the consistency we like. It was not bad, but I think I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious! I used 1 1/2 c. petite diced tomatoes, which I added with lentils and vegetable broth. After reading other reviews, I upped the cumin to 1 tsp. and added one diced sweet potato. Simmering all ingredients together, I needed to add 2-3 c. water, but it was still very thick and tasty. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I fond this very bland. The apricots added nothing to the flavor and it was so thick it was more like a stew than a soup. Threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States