Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good! Based on the other reviews I also doubled the spices and I used fresh apricots instead of dried. I waited to add them until the second part of the cooking. For a little variety, I only used 1 cup of lentils and 1/4 cup of Teff--great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was just ok, I've made much more satisfying lentils before. This could have been because I used fresh apricots ( almost a cup). I also added cayenne powder, turmeric and a bit of curry powder all of which lent the soup a spiced flavor, but overall this just didn't wow me. I will have to try it with dried apricots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It took me a while to come around to this soup, but after a few bowls and a couple of days in the fridge its flavor has melded and I'm really liking it. Part of the initial issue was due to the canned tomatoes which left a tinny top note that thankfully went away. I also think I'd have preferred vegetable broth in it for a purer vegetable essence (and this is coming from the consummate carnivore). In addition to the canned tomatoes I followed advice to add curry powder and sweet potato. I didn't find the apricots too sweet. Maybe some people are using sweetened apricots and that accounts for the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love lentils and have several favorite soup recipes, but will not count this as one of them. It was good, but not fabulous. My husband is not a great fan of lentils, but he loves apricots, so I hoped to entice him by adding more than 1/2 cup (instead of 1/3 cup) called for in the recipe. Even so, their flavor was hardly noticeable. I used canned tomatoes, which was extra liquid, but still needed to add another cup and 1/2 of broth to give it the consistency we like. It was not bad, but I think I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious! I used 1 1/2 c. petite diced tomatoes, which I added with lentils and vegetable broth. After reading other reviews, I upped the cumin to 1 tsp. and added one diced sweet potato. Simmering all ingredients together, I needed to add 2-3 c. water, but it was still very thick and tasty. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I fond this very bland. The apricots added nothing to the flavor and it was so thick it was more like a stew than a soup. Threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was good! I have to say I disagree with those who said increasing the amount of apricots made it too sweet. I only used the 1/3 cup (finely chopped) apricots that the recipe called for, and I could barely taste any apricot/sweetness at all in the finished product. Next time I will definitely increase to 1/2 cup at least. That said, the soup was super delicious! I doubled the thyme and cumin (as suggested by many reviewers), and I'm glad I did. Perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
SO AMAZING. I've been trying to enjoy lentils for so long but always used recipes that left me disappointed. UNTIL I FOUND THIS. Om nom nom. I followed exactly as is, except used canned tomatoes and doubled the spices. Definitely pair this with a whole grain of some sort - over rice, with bread, etc. It becomes a meal that way and leaves you full for quite some time. Will be making this one again, for sure. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is great! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow, when it's had a chance to get even better. I doubled the cumin, but kept the thyme at 1/2 tsp. I also used veggie broth, since I'm a vegetarian. I didn't seed or peel the tomatoes and didn't blend half of the soup. It was still great. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I would give this recipe SIX stars if I could! I have been giddy ever since we sat down to dinner. We almost went out to eat tonight, and we were all so glad we stayed home and tried out this recipe. The sweetness of the apricot blended with the savories was just heavenly. I added a cubed sweet potato as another reviewer recommended, and the heartiness was perfect for this cold and crisp day. Love, love, love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States