Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Quite tasty - used up leftover chicken broth made from the bones of our (small) Thanksgiving meal, so that there were small chicken bits in it as well. They went very nicely with the apricots. I also thought more water would be useful, and more spices (I added sumac - LOVE sumac!). I didn't puree, either - it doesn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I made enough for 8 servings. Used veggie broth for my vegetarian friends. Added 3/4 cup quinoa. 2 tsps. of the spices. Accidentally poured way too much black pepper in but that actually gave it a good flavor. The quinoa seemed to soak up the juice so I added approx 2 more cups of broth after pureeing. Also added a bit of cayenne pepper. It was very good, but, I think the chicken broth might have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I loved it. My 12 year old, not so much. But I also didn't use the red lentils, green ones instead and no tomatoes so it didn't look like the picture but it still tasted delicious. I especially love the lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Kids and I loved this soup. My one daughter wanted to add sour cream, and that was a really lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
As suggested, I doubled the amount of spices, next time I'll probably add a bit more, because we love spicy, but man was this delicious! Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I came across this recipe in my ongoing quest to find foods for someone on a pureed diet. Potato, cream, and cheese based soups were getting a bit old, and pureed bean in general doesn't really need to be soup. This one seemed different without being off the rails. SUCCESS! Another soup to add to the arsenal. I was worried about the apricot, but read the reviews and was careful not to add too much. Since the recipe doesn't say what to do with the apricot, I diced them fairly small, and measured that way. The taste was very slight, but enough to give it character. I didn't peel the tomatoes either. Only one tablespoon of lemon, and I thought it was way more than enough. Red lentils are kind of important as they break down better. Found them at Sprouts whole foods. I used a stick blender to puree the whole batch, and it made a wonderfully thick, tasty soup, perfect for what I was looking for. Good protein and fiber are a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I agree on doubling the amount of seasonings and to be careful about not adding too many extra apricots because it can make the soup too sweet. I made this with a homemade vegetable stock, so I also had carrots and celery in it and thankfully the carrots didn't make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Pretty sure mine, with brown lentils as red seem to be unavailable at our 4 area groceries, looked unappealing after being puréed. Did not think the lemon juice helped in that overall impression either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
very unflavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good! Based on the other reviews I also doubled the spices and I used fresh apricots instead of dried. I waited to add them until the second part of the cooking. For a little variety, I only used 1 cup of lentils and 1/4 cup of Teff--great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States