Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This soup is a joy to eat and make! I can't believe a soup with apricots is possible but it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Great recipe. I also noticed that this turned out very thick, which was fine. I added a little extra apricot but my husband said he could not taste it... he loved it anyways. I could not find red lentils so I used the regular kind. I also like to add to the flavor by increasing the spices. Very easy and VERY filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
very yummy. very easy to make. I doubled the spices and I think next time I'll add some more apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What a wonderful tasting soup. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I made it exactly as posted and I was very pleased. The apricot is lovely with the lentils. I can't wait to eat this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Wow, this was excellent! The apricot added a rich yet subtle flavor that was just perfect with the rest of the ingredients. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and fresh thyme. This was surprisingly filling, but it didn't leave us feeling uncomfortably full, because the ingredients aren't heavy. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I found this recipe perfect as is. If you truly simmer slowly in a Dutch Oven, you won't have to cover it or add any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a good base recipe but is somewhat bland and would be much better as a heartier soup. I thought it could have used potatoes and maybe zucchini or squash. We added hot sauce and extra pepper to give it more flavor. We will definitely make it again but will make quite a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was surprisingly fantastic! I wasn't sure about the apricots. I was just searching for recipes with lentils and had dried apricots on hand. I thought that this might be an okay way to use them. Everyone in my family thought that the combination sounded horrible. They were quite pleasantly surprised by how excellent this soup is! I used regular tomatoes instead of roma and didn't peel or seed them. I also did not place 1/2 of the soup in the blender. It was still wonderful! I will be making this again! It is healthy and unusual and tasty enough to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I have been searching for a lentil soup...and this is the best I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I love this recipe! The trick the soup is to COVER the stock pot and then let the soup simmer 30 minutes, so that way the water stays in the pot, it won't boil out and leave you needing to add more water. I pureed the soup completely with a stick blender, and then right before serving, I swirled in a dollop of plain yogurt for some extra creaminess. It was awesome! Thanks for the great, inexpensive, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States