Apricot Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I have been searching for a lentil soup...and this is the best I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I love this recipe! The trick the soup is to COVER the stock pot and then let the soup simmer 30 minutes, so that way the water stays in the pot, it won't boil out and leave you needing to add more water. I pureed the soup completely with a stick blender, and then right before serving, I swirled in a dollop of plain yogurt for some extra creaminess. It was awesome! Thanks for the great, inexpensive, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was delicious, cheap, and easy! I made a few changes by subbing in beef broth (it was all I had) for the chicken and herbs de provence for the dried thyme (ditto). I didn't bother pureeing it because the lentils were cooked until soft. My Dad thought this was too sweet, but both my Mom and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is delicious! I only had green lentils, but it was still so amazing. I used 5 cups of water with vegetable bouillon and ended up adding about 1.5 additional cups of water after it simmered for 30 minutes. My only criticism is that this makes about 4 cups of soup total, so if you are feeding a family, you will need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Very good, very filling. Didn't change a thing (no need to). I was nervous about the apricot, but it was so mild yet definitely there. All the flavors blended so well with each other. Even my very picky son ate some (not a lot, but some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was really good. Loved the hint of apricot in it. I will also add that I can only eat about a half bowl. It's quite odd, but I become extremly full, and it stays with me for hours. Low fat, delicious,nutritious and filling. What more could you ask for. I would call this a one pot wonder, and I rarely say that about a dish. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Nothing that made me say wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. It was very easy,too. Reminds me of an indian dal. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have tried it at home and it was a massive success. Soon after it was ready it was finished!! I followed the exact recipe instructions though next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was good! I made it as written with no changes and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States