Apricot Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
The dough was very soft and despite using a well-floured surface to roll it on, I couldn't fold up the corners. I put the smeared little lumps on parchment paper to prevent scorching, and they did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great recipe! I added 1/4 cup extra flour to dough, due to previous review that it was too sticky to work with and my dough came out fine. I divided my dough into 3 parts and rolled out each part, spread filling and cut into triangles like a pizza. Each wedge was then rolled up like croissants. To the apricot filling I added and extra tbsp. sugar. My kids and family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
These turned out well. I chilled my dough a little longer than an hour because it still seemed a little too soft when I checked it. The cookie part has a sweet biscuit type flavor. I will definately try these with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I used regular pie filling (blueberry, cherry, apple, peach) and they were just awesome. Also, I made circles in the dough and folded it over and used a fork to stick the edges together. It worked really nicely. Great, fantastic recipe!!!! Our whole family wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My father-in-law loved these cookies! I did find, however, the 2" squares were a bit on the smallish side, so I used a glass with a 3 1/2" diameter to make circles instead. I also shook the cookies (after they were cooled) in powdered sugar. Next time I will probably add a little more flour and maybe powdered sugar to make the dough less sticky. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My family and I love this recipe. It's a lot quicker than the other kolache recipies with yeast, but it tastes nearly identical. This would be a great finger food to serve on a buffet or even as a dessert at a formal dinner. 2 things: 400 on my oven was a little hot. I turned it down to about 390 or so (just barely before the 400 mark), and they worked beautifully. Expect the finished product to have areas of dark and like, sort of like macaroons (sp?). Secondly, make sure the dough is REALLY cold. I eventually put mine in the freezer. Otherwise, you'll have it sticking to your rolling pin constantly. Try other dried fruits. Plum immediently comes to mind, but other fruits would work too. Be aware that if you use jelly (ONLY use "all-fruit" jelly if you're going to do this) it WILL run out of your kolache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
these were just like my grandmother used to make. My family and friends enjoyed these very much. I used apricot preserves instead. The dried apricots were too stiff and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exactly like Mom used to make! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe is very tasty! I found that even at 400', 15 min wasn't enough time to brown the cookie. I am at 6000 ft elevation, that may make a difference. Also, the squares were difficult to manage, so I rolled out a 9" diameter circle and used a pizza cutter to cut out 12 wedges. This version looked great, but the filling oozed out. So, I cut out 3" diameter circles and put the filling in the middle-then folded over and crimped the edge with a fork. This worked really well. OH, the original recipe said "6 servings"...how many cookies is that per serving? Since I wasn't certain, I doubled the recipe and it turned out that I got 4 dozen from it. So, 6 servings was 2 dozen (not enough to share with friends and neighbors). All-in-all, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My family has been making these for years! I wait every christmas to eat these but we make a cream cheese filling for the top they are the BEST!!!! Our recipe is just a tad different though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States