Apricot Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
When I saw this recipe, I thought they would come out like little danishes... wrong. They are more like a cookie, or rather like Pop-Tart(tm)dough. So instead of folding them like the recipe called for I made them into little Pop-Tarts(tm). Thanks to VJGUNKEL59 for the heads-up on the extra 1/4 cup flour to help with the sticky dough problem. Also the heat was too high for the time... So I lowered the heat to 350 and kept the time. Other than that I like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
good recipe but the photo is misleading...the photo must be of the more traditional yeast dough version....this recipe does not turn out like what is pictured...more like a cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
The dough was extremely soft and unable to hold much of a shape. As i read in other reviews it stuck to the surface no matter how much flour I used due to the cream cheese element. This recipe may be good for desert Kolaches but does not work well for savory ones, due to the sweetness of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wonderful and easy, I think the cream cheam pastry is luscious as well as much easier and less time consuming than a yeast dough. The hint of cream cheese also provides the perfect complement to the warm richness of apricot filling. I added a just a hint of lemon zest to the pastry to accentuate the flavor and it all won rave reviews. Best of all, the ingredients are all things you can readily have on hand for any time you feel like making a fruit-based breakfast treat or dessert but don't have any fresh fruit handy. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NervieCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe was a lot of fun. Tons of butter though (but that's just how I like things). I did not have an issue with the dough being too sticky to work with, I felt that this was the perfect recipe. However, due to the incompetence of the keeper of my parents' kitchen, I substituted the apricots with dried cherries, and I have to say, it was amazing. I plan to make this again and I will more than likely be just as pleased with the apricot filling as I am with the Cherry. Thanks for posting this! It has become a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are very close to how my Grandma made them. Only we called them envelopes. Her's seemed smaller though. She only folded over two sides, which made them look like little envelopes (opposite corners). But the bottoms got a little to brown for me. Perhaps I baked too long. She used to use nut filling, cheese filling and prune filling also. Then she dredged in powdered sugar. Ahh...a little taste of childhood memories. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made these yesterday evening. I followed the recipe and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My family has been making these for years! I wait every christmas to eat these but we make a cream cheese filling for the top they are the BEST!!!! Our recipe is just a tad different though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe is very tasty! I found that even at 400', 15 min wasn't enough time to brown the cookie. I am at 6000 ft elevation, that may make a difference. Also, the squares were difficult to manage, so I rolled out a 9" diameter circle and used a pizza cutter to cut out 12 wedges. This version looked great, but the filling oozed out. So, I cut out 3" diameter circles and put the filling in the middle-then folded over and crimped the edge with a fork. This worked really well. OH, the original recipe said "6 servings"...how many cookies is that per serving? Since I wasn't certain, I doubled the recipe and it turned out that I got 4 dozen from it. So, 6 servings was 2 dozen (not enough to share with friends and neighbors). All-in-all, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exactly like Mom used to make! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States