Apricot-Glazed Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Apricot-Glazed Spareribs Recipe

Apricot-Glazed Spareribs

Recipe by  

"While this is a perfect glaze for barbecuing ribs, you can also prepare this meal in the oven."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 6 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT

Directions

  1. Early in day or day ahead: In very large saucepot or Dutch oven, combine pork spareribs and garlic; cover with water. Over high heat, heat to boiling. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer 1 hour or until spareribs are fork-tender. Remove ribs to platter; cover and refrigerate.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare apricot glaze: combine SMUCKER'S® preserves, onion, ketchup, brown sugar, oil, soy sauce, ginger and salt in small saucepan; mix well. Heat to boiling; boil 1 minute. Cover and refrigerate apricot glaze.
  3. About 1 hour before serving: heat grill. When ready to barbecue, place cooked spareribs on grill over medium heat. Cook 12 to 15 minutes or until heated through, turning spareribs often. Brush occasionally with apricot glaze during last 10 minutes of cooking.
Kitchen-Friendly View

Footnotes

  • The precooked spareribs can be broiled in the oven. Place spareribs on broiler pan; brush with some apricot glaze. Broil about 7 to 9 inches from heat for 7 to 8 minutes, brushing with apricot glaze halfway through cooking time. Turn ribs, brush with apricot glaze and broil for 5 to 6 minutes, brushing with apricot glaze halfway through cooking time.
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Mar 08, 2005

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT GRILL SAUCE. TRY IT ON CHICKEN OR SHRIMP,TOO. I KEEP A JAR MIXED UP IN THE FRIG SO I CAN PUT A GRILLED MEAL ON THE TABLE IN SHORT ORDER. JUST BE CAREFUL, IT BURNS QUICKLY. WATCH IT LIKE A HAWK.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Oct 20, 2007

The pork turned out very dry and you could not really taste the glaze on the pork after it was grilled. I will use a different recipe for spareribs in the future.

 

13 Ratings

Mar 10, 2005

My family usually only wants regular ol' bbq sauce on ribs, but they LOVED this recipe!! I varied it a bit: I boiled boneless ribs then threw them in the crockpot (sprayed w/Pam first), made the glaze then spread it over the ribs & cooked it on high for about 4 hours. Added bonus--the house smelled wonderful!

 
Mar 14, 2005

I loved this recipe! I used short ribs and broiled them. They fell off the bone. I'm using this sauce on a pork loin tonight. Wouldn't change a thing.

 
Feb 08, 2010

This really came out great!! My family loved it. We broiled the ribs in the oven and they were super tender!

 
Apr 05, 2005

The sauce is fantastic. Loving sauce, I cut back on the meat and doubled the sauce portion of the recipe. Slurp!!

 
Mar 10, 2005

This is excellent !!!...we used it on boneless pork chops and grilled them.

 
May 06, 2005

These ribs were fairly good. Next time, I will save some of the sauce to dip the ribs in while eating.

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 975 kcal
  • 49%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 43.2 g
  • 14%
  • Cholesterol
  • 240 mg
  • 80%
  • Fat
  • 62.5 g
  • 96%
  • Fiber
  • 0.2 g
  • < 1%
  • Protein
  • 58.1 g
  • 116%
  • Sodium
  • 542 mg
  • 22%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States