Apricot Ginger Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The only change I made on this recipe was I doubled the amount of preserves; then I doubled the recipe. I used four hens cut in half for eight servings. They were amazing! Not only was the taste great, but they came out of the oven picture perfect. They were moist, and had a great color. I made this at Christmas because everyone is tired of turkey and ham from Thanksgiving. Everyone loved them. This will become a holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
These were wonderful. Moist and juicy. I used my kitchen shears to cut them in half and it was relatively easy. Both the adults and children loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe was pretty tasty. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of game hens, and my husband loved it. Next time, I think I will bread the chicken after it has been soaked in the sauce, though, for a more intense flavor. I also served this over jasmine rice mixed with apricot preserves and minced ginger. This recipe is a keeper. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was so easy and really delicious. My family loved them. Could easily use pork or chicken. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are delicious and without the jam you would not have that great sticky glaze. Perhaps those who did not care for the recipe did not use fresh ginger. It is a huge crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This smells wonderful the changes I made is this I added Rosemary just a bit pat of butter. Instead of wine I used apricot nectar juice and instead of white sugar I used brown sugar everything else the same. I will report how this comes out tonight but really excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made it, only substituting light soy sauce for less sodium, and it was very good. We had them along with a small pineapple glazed ham for our Thanksgiving meal. Both complimented each other well! Frequently the beginning stages of marinades or glazes don't taste the same as they do after cooking in an oven for an hour or so. Don't get too hasty about changing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
These were terrific, nice and juicy! I bought them frozen and when they thawed I just cut them in half myself with a big chef's knife, no problem. I basted them with the marinade they were cooking in,about every 15 minutes while they were baking. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
VERY GOOD, THE SAUCE IS SO YUMMY. WILL MAKE AGIAN..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicous. Circumstances prevailing, my hens came butcher marinated in fresh lemon, olive oil, and garlic. I made sauce with home available items, ginger syrup with grated ginger, apricot preserves, champagne Vinegar, soy, no wine used orange liquor. Did not care for the soy so added more ingredient To cover. Cooked jasmine rice in same sauce pan as residual marinade was made in. Great. Can,t wait to try a fruit stuffed pork roast. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannutalk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States