Apricot Ginger Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are delicious and without the jam you would not have that great sticky glaze. Perhaps those who did not care for the recipe did not use fresh ginger. It is a huge crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
As other reviewers have posted, it tasted only of soy sauce. The flavor of apricot and ginger (even tho I doubled the ginger) was lost. I was hoping for much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
this was not the flavor i was expectiong what apricot i only tasted soy sauce it was good but should be under a different name and the marinating time is important did it for 6 hours the first time and then let the other one sit overnight two different taste but still no apricot no ginger followed it to a tee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was so easy and really delicious. My family loved them. Could easily use pork or chicken. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe was pretty tasty. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of game hens, and my husband loved it. Next time, I think I will bread the chicken after it has been soaked in the sauce, though, for a more intense flavor. I also served this over jasmine rice mixed with apricot preserves and minced ginger. This recipe is a keeper. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I picked this recipe out for my husband to make for a dinner party. It came out wonderfully - and we only marinated them for 6 hours instead of overnight. Next time we make it we'll marinate for longer. I've already emailed this recipe to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
These were wonderful. Moist and juicy. I used my kitchen shears to cut them in half and it was relatively easy. Both the adults and children loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
These were terrific, nice and juicy! I bought them frozen and when they thawed I just cut them in half myself with a big chef's knife, no problem. I basted them with the marinade they were cooking in,about every 15 minutes while they were baking. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States