Apricot Danish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great recipe. I did make some changes due to not having all the necessary ingredients. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 plain yogert. I also added a little cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to the cake ( covers the box cake taste) I did not have apricots, so I mixed Knotts apricot preserves 1/2 c into the creamcheese mix until smooth(used a hand mixer) then just spread this mixture over the cake batter, ramdomly dropped some extra preserves over it, topped it with the crumble, i added flour to get more crumble, and baked as directed... It was very yummy and I have requests for a raspberry one and a lemon one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This was very pretty and tasty. My can of apricots only had 14 too, so it was fun to try to avoid getting that one cream cheese Danish! Instead of using water for the glaze, I used the yummy syrup from the can. It gave the whole cake an extra apricot boost!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCDEBBIET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is by far the best cake recipe that I have ever made. I've made this many times for friends and each time everyone wants the recipe. It's fairly easy to make and sooooo verrrry good. WOW! Hint! If your can of apricots doesn't have enough apricots in it... just cut a couple in half... If you really want to treat yourself and your family, you need to try this!!!! Five stars plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This is fabulous! I've taken it to several brunches now, and served it to guests on holidays using different fruit, and it is always a hit. I doubled the glaze on accident the first time, and liked it so much that I always make it that way now. This is beautiful and popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Very moist and very delicious. Resign yourself to buying two cans of apricots because one will not have enough halves in it. I wondered if it would look better with the rounded side of the apricot up, so I did a few that way and learned that with the cut side up they catch some of the crumb topping and that's better. If leftovers are kept in a closed container the almonds will get a little soft, but it still has a great taste. Definitely mix the powdered sugar with some apricot juice for more flavor, and put the glaze in a small plastic bag with a tiny bit of one corner cut off for easier drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is such a "fancy" looking dessert. It looks as though you spent hours but it is so quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
IT'S A HIT! I made this to take to the office for a Friday morning pick me up and everyone raved about it. I used a yellow cake mix (didn't have white on hand) and I used raspberry preserves instead of the apricot halves. I also used a knife and swirled it just a bit before I put the topping on. With the red preserves swirled on top it looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2000
very tasty, decadent looking. This cake can be made with apricot preserves, also. Very tasty, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
RIGHT ON! This was delicious. I picked out some really ripe nice local apricots. I also used half fat-free cream cheese half and regular to cut the calories a bit. Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This was absolutely wonderful and so easy to make!! I used fresh apricots and took this to our friends lake house. Major hit with adults and kids alike. I'm going to try this again using maybe cherries or some other fruit! You've gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States