Apricot Danish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
IT'S A HIT! I made this to take to the office for a Friday morning pick me up and everyone raved about it. I used a yellow cake mix (didn't have white on hand) and I used raspberry preserves instead of the apricot halves. I also used a knife and swirled it just a bit before I put the topping on. With the red preserves swirled on top it looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great recipe. I did make some changes due to not having all the necessary ingredients. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 plain yogert. I also added a little cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to the cake ( covers the box cake taste) I did not have apricots, so I mixed Knotts apricot preserves 1/2 c into the creamcheese mix until smooth(used a hand mixer) then just spread this mixture over the cake batter, ramdomly dropped some extra preserves over it, topped it with the crumble, i added flour to get more crumble, and baked as directed... It was very yummy and I have requests for a raspberry one and a lemon one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Thumbs up from the whole family on this one, however would probably make changes if I made it again. I too only had 14 halves in my can, so I used half of a fresh peach in the last spot. The cake was good, and my younger kids prefered that, to the fruit and cream cheese part. However, the rest of us agreed that the cream cheese needs something more, not necessarily sweetened, but maybe some flavoring. Also, would probably try and swirl it through rather than dropping my the spoonful and would dice fruit and add spread that out too. I did use the juice from the apricots, instead of water, for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Wow big servings. This was fun to make. I bought 2 small cans of apricots due to other reviewers not having enough. I will definitely make this again but making more smaller squares and cutting the apricots in half and trying with other fruits. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This came out looking really nice but we thought the taste was just okay. Will keep looking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This so SOOOOOOOO good. The can of apricots only had 12 halves, so I adjusted the number of wells. Will try with cheery, apple, pie filling. Great grab-and-go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was the easiest and best homemade danish/coffecake I've ever tasted. I did add 1/4 C add'l flour w/the 1 tbl of 10X sugar to stretch the topping along w/using the drained apricot syrup + a dash of milk for the glaze instead of the water. It WOWed everyone in the office and had everyone coming back for 3rds. Thank you - keep these special "easy" treats a coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is by far the best cake recipe that I have ever made. I've made this many times for friends and each time everyone wants the recipe. It's fairly easy to make and sooooo verrrry good. WOW! Hint! If your can of apricots doesn't have enough apricots in it... just cut a couple in half... If you really want to treat yourself and your family, you need to try this!!!! Five stars plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe. I used 1/2 apricots and 1/2 canned peaches. It was moist and very flavorfull. I took the previous advice and used the apricot juice to make the glaze. Mmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Absolutely fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I especially like the appearance. Makes a very pretty presentation. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States