Apricot Danish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I took this to Easter breakfast this morning and it was well recieved. It did look very pretty when it was done. Per other suggestions I did add in some nutmeg, cinnamon & vanilla to the batter. Also, I used 4 tsp as opposed to 2 for the glaze and subbed in the apricot juice instead of water for more of an apricot "pop". THANK YOU for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I wasn't so fond of the white cake mix taste so I added some cinnamon to that and it made it taste more homeade I think. The apricot was great but my favorite is to make stripes of the cream cheese and run raspberry pie filling along the same 3 stripes! A home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I thought it was good. I used French Vanilla cake mix and added xtra vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg like other readers. I think the flavor of cake made it too sweet. Next time I won't use Fr.Vanilla. I think that was the problem. I also used raspberry jam, I think preserves would be better but I couldn't find any that were seedless, hence the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used apple pie filling instead of apricots. Used low fat sour cream. Skipped the almonds. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made this but I don't like apricots so I used a bag of frozen berries. Cooked them with a 1/2 cup sugar then thickened as I would for a pie with cornstarch. After putting the cream cheese dollops I put this on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Just made this tonight for the first time. I don't like to serve something new to people unless I taste it first. I have a breakfast/meeting to bring it to tomorrow. I cut it into squares and tasted one......WOW! I must say that it tasted like it came from a bakery! I plan on making this over and over again. I did make a change that another reader suggested. Instead of using apricot halves I used apricot preserves on top of the cream cheese mixture. Next time I may try a different preserve such as peach. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My family wasn't crazy about this. It's a lot of fat (but so is most anything really delicious!) and the sum of the ingredients is pretty expensive for the result. I will continue to search for a Danish recipe; thank you nonetheless for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Very moist and very delicious. Resign yourself to buying two cans of apricots because one will not have enough halves in it. I wondered if it would look better with the rounded side of the apricot up, so I did a few that way and learned that with the cut side up they catch some of the crumb topping and that's better. If leftovers are kept in a closed container the almonds will get a little soft, but it still has a great taste. Definitely mix the powdered sugar with some apricot juice for more flavor, and put the glaze in a small plastic bag with a tiny bit of one corner cut off for easier drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Wonderful recipe!!! I had to slice several of the apricot halves in order to fill all fifteen wells. The can I purchased did not have fifteen halves. The slivered almonds with the confectioners sugar drizzled on them made a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
IT'S A HIT! I made this to take to the office for a Friday morning pick me up and everyone raved about it. I used a yellow cake mix (didn't have white on hand) and I used raspberry preserves instead of the apricot halves. I also used a knife and swirled it just a bit before I put the topping on. With the red preserves swirled on top it looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States