Apricot Danish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I took this to Easter breakfast this morning and it was well recieved. It did look very pretty when it was done. Per other suggestions I did add in some nutmeg, cinnamon & vanilla to the batter. Also, I used 4 tsp as opposed to 2 for the glaze and subbed in the apricot juice instead of water for more of an apricot "pop". THANK YOU for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I wasn't so fond of the white cake mix taste so I added some cinnamon to that and it made it taste more homeade I think. The apricot was great but my favorite is to make stripes of the cream cheese and run raspberry pie filling along the same 3 stripes! A home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I thought it was good. I used French Vanilla cake mix and added xtra vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg like other readers. I think the flavor of cake made it too sweet. Next time I won't use Fr.Vanilla. I think that was the problem. I also used raspberry jam, I think preserves would be better but I couldn't find any that were seedless, hence the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used apple pie filling instead of apricots. Used low fat sour cream. Skipped the almonds. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made this but I don't like apricots so I used a bag of frozen berries. Cooked them with a 1/2 cup sugar then thickened as I would for a pie with cornstarch. After putting the cream cheese dollops I put this on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Just made this tonight for the first time. I don't like to serve something new to people unless I taste it first. I have a breakfast/meeting to bring it to tomorrow. I cut it into squares and tasted one......WOW! I must say that it tasted like it came from a bakery! I plan on making this over and over again. I did make a change that another reader suggested. Instead of using apricot halves I used apricot preserves on top of the cream cheese mixture. Next time I may try a different preserve such as peach. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My family wasn't crazy about this. It's a lot of fat (but so is most anything really delicious!) and the sum of the ingredients is pretty expensive for the result. I will continue to search for a Danish recipe; thank you nonetheless for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Very moist and very delicious. Resign yourself to buying two cans of apricots because one will not have enough halves in it. I wondered if it would look better with the rounded side of the apricot up, so I did a few that way and learned that with the cut side up they catch some of the crumb topping and that's better. If leftovers are kept in a closed container the almonds will get a little soft, but it still has a great taste. Definitely mix the powdered sugar with some apricot juice for more flavor, and put the glaze in a small plastic bag with a tiny bit of one corner cut off for easier drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Wonderful recipe!!! I had to slice several of the apricot halves in order to fill all fifteen wells. The can I purchased did not have fifteen halves. The slivered almonds with the confectioners sugar drizzled on them made a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
IT'S A HIT! I made this to take to the office for a Friday morning pick me up and everyone raved about it. I used a yellow cake mix (didn't have white on hand) and I used raspberry preserves instead of the apricot halves. I also used a knife and swirled it just a bit before I put the topping on. With the red preserves swirled on top it looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States