Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have no idea why anyone would say these are bland, they have fantastic flavour. I have substituted the lemon for 1 tbsp vanilla and will change up the toppings. A spicy cherry jelly is fantastic, I also used guava paste which is sturdy enough it doesn't run off the cookie at all. I also like to try rolling the dough in different things before indenting and adding the jelly - so far crushed walnuts are the tastiest, sesame seeds look fantastic and powdered sugar adds delicacy and sweetness, I'm sure there are a lot of other things that would work too. My only issue is I actually find the dough to be too sweet, next time I will experiment with cutting down the amount of sugar and possibly adding more cream cheese if I want to work with a pepper or spicy jelly. Note - prep time seems incorrect for this recipe, rolling the dough and adding the jelly takes longer for me. Also I didn't make 7 dozen, I must have made my cookies larger but I ended up with 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made these and drizzled them with a light frosting of milk/almond extract and confectioners sugar. Made them two days in a row by the dozens of dozens and people at work couldn't get enough of them. I was called evil for bringing something so delicious in to work that the girls starting their new years diets couldn't resist them!! Only thing I changed was to add a little vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract instead of the zest. Then I rolled them in confectioners sugar to keep them from sticking. No need to add extra flour they turn out way better and lighter if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is a definite keeper! I am an avid baker and often rely on the ratings of others before I will bring it to the table for my family. Since this was rated so highly, I gave it a try and made a few changes. I followed the advice of others and rolled these in powdered sugar to make for easier handling. I also used cherry preserves and when cooled, I made a powdered sugar glaze with milk and added a teaspoon of almond extract to it. The cherry and almond flavoring combo was divine. I also made the other half of the batch using apricot preserves and also drizzled the almond glaze over these, too. What a delicious treat! They are a cross between a sugar cookie with glaze and a classic thumbprint with preserves. You will not be disappointed with these tender cookies. Tip: Use parchment paper when cooking so the preserves don't leak out on the sheet pan. Of course, this will only happen if you push down too much on the cookie for the jam insert. A teaspoon worked perfectly when I dipped it in powdered sugar to form the jam divot. Plus, using parchment deters the cookie from browning too much on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabhiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great cookies, also added two teaspoons of vanilla extract like other reviewers mentioned . Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made these exactly as recipe said, and I didn't care for them. The dough was kind of gummy, and bland. I used orange marmalade and strawberry preserves, as there is allot of dough.they were sweet, and that's due to the jelly. Something is missing.Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newberrrys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
These were delicious cookies! The cream cheese gave them a wonderful texture and tang. I used homemade blueberry jam instead of apricot, which stained the surrounding top of the cookie a purple color, but that's the fault of the jam. A very versatile recipe that has quickly become a favourite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These were ok. The cookies had more of a bisquit consistency than that of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Really liked these cookies. Just made them for the husband for Valentines Day. I add a 1/4 tsp salt, and I also added 1/2 tsp almond extract along with the lemon juice. I only made a half batch, didn't really want 7 dozen cookies. I got 4 dozen. I also used apricot filling that I buy near the bakery section of my food store . It's niot as runny as preserves and is totally apricots, no sugar added. I rolled the balls in granulated sugar, that's what I do when I make kolachy..they were great, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious!! They were a huge hit! Will make again. I added more lemon zest to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I thought these were a little bland. Thank goodness I read prior reviews and added some vanilla extract. They were just a cookie to me. I did roll the cookies in conf. sugar before baking and that I am sure helped with the flavour a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States