Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These are absolutely delicious. I made them 3 times so far and they have been wonderful. The last time I made them I put apricot preserves and prune filling as in rolled kolache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
What a great cookie!! This is the type of taste that my family loves - not bland but not over sweet. Since this made so many, I was able to experiment with each tray that went into the oven. I put different flavored jams on several dozen - including Hot Pepper Jelly (it was a hit). One batch, I rolled the cookie first into ground walnuts. I did end up sprinkling each batch with powdered sugar except those rolled in nuts. Next time, I'm going to try rolling in colored granulated sugar. Here's 3 BIG tips: 1. I prefer to bake on parchment paper. 2. With this cookie, I used the smaller end of my Melon Baller to make the indent instead of using my finger (I have nails). I held my fingers around the ball shape and then pressed gently with the rounded side of the Melon Baller - almost to the bottom of the cookie. This gave the cookies uniform indents and reasonable size to fill with the jam. Dip the Melon Baller in powdered sugar first to prevent sticking. 3. Put the lemon in the microwave for 15 seconds before zesting and juicing. I was able to get 2 Tbls. juice out of one half of the lemon. I refrigerated the dough before rolling into balls and had no problems. This recipe would be great for a Cookie Exchange. Definetly was a hit with everyone and was told to make them again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I used red raspberry jam instead and these cookies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
In Law's favorites I made these the first year I hosted my In Laws for Christmas. Everyone loves them and they are the first cookie to go. Has become one of the cookie mainstays in the family. I've made them with different fillings, raspberry, strawberry, and apricot. These are consistently awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a cookie that I used to bake with my mom but couldn't find the recipe. This one is perfect and exactly how I remembered it! I also use rasberry preserves to make 2 different colors for the cookies. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been using this recipe for about 3 years. They are always a big hit. I end up getting a lot of cookies out of the recipe so I drop them off to very excited family. I love to do these with red raspberry jam and apricot and apricot pineapple I make different flavor batches. I did try with some strawberry one time and did not like it at all. I do increase the lemon juice and zest about 2.5-3 Tablespoons of each. Also these are pretty labor intensive so I chill the dough overnight and make the cookies the next day. Also do not over work your dough and keep an eye on the first batch sometimes mine are done at about 13 minutes. I dust with powder sugar after they cool a bit. And don't try them straigt out of the oven I always can't wait and burn myself b/c the jam is so hot!! Happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVBellBoyzX4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have to agree with several of the other reviewers on here. The cookie is oddly fluffy and very bland. I even took into consideration that other people had said the cookie was bland and went heavy on the lemon zest. Still it was quite bland. I'll try to make a larger indent in the rest of the batch so that I can add more apricot jam, maybe that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Its my favorite of all thumbprint recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Christinson Novicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamel, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious cookies. The cream cheese makes the dough soft and stay soft after baking. The sweetness is subtle and the lemon/jam tartness is lovely with the light taste of the cream cheese. As many reviewers have said, this is a subtle cookie, not a screemingly sweet bold cookie. The lemon zest and apricot preserves are the major flavorings of this cookie. Use good quality flour, zest your lemon properly (avoid the pith), and use good quality jam and you won't be disappointed. Additions that I've found work are using bit of almond extract with raspberry jam. A warning about the dough: as you finish the dough and roll them for the baking sheet, the dough will look fluffy and "too soft". Resist the urge to add more flour. The dough is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
One of our favorite cookies. Make it with rhubarb strawberry jam too -- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States