Apricot-Coconut Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe was very easy to prepare and does taste pretty good, but it is not like "to die for" amazing and nothing overly spectacular. What I do like however is that it is moist and holds together quite well. Make sure you add all the sugar it states as the apricots can be quite tart and the walnuts bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Pretty good tasting, except the crust is very thin and crispy. I might recommend using a smaller pan and maybe not baking the crust ahead of time, just baking it with the topping on it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I got some very ambivalent reviews for this recipe... Some loved it, others hated it. Personally, I found the flavor of the coconut combined with the apricots and walnuts too sickeningly sweet and unpleasant. Also, the SUPER crunchy crust was in contrast with the soft, mushy filling wasn't pleasant. Will definitely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very easy to make, which is important for a busy mom. They lasted only two hours in my house, that's how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is excellent! I did it first just how it said, but I left the walnuts out as my housemate is allergic to nuts. Second time, I spread some apricot jam between the two layers, and soaked the apricots in a coconut-rum liquor overnight instead of boiling them in water for ten minutes. makes it divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
My daughter-in-law loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These are the best! but I made them in a 9x9 pan & used pecans ISO walnuts. Also, I didn't have lemon juice & used white vinegar & it didn't spoil the taste at all. Do you have any other recipes like this? I'd love to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made these for gifts during the holidays and they were a big hit. I did leave the coconut out but still wonderful! Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was the best recipe that I tried this year. I love that this bar has a crisp crust on the bottom while the rest is soft, and it isn't super sweet. The only thing I did different is cook the apricots a little longer than 10 min. Everyone loved this recipe at our Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I am not personally fond of apricots but I wanted give this a shot. Some pieces were more sweet than others but the overall recipe was sweet in itself. I liked it though - it was okay - but my boyfriend and his coworker loved it! Is there any suggestion on how to make it less sweeter than it is and more on top of the crust? It was good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States