Apricot-Coconut Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
After reading a couple of reviews I tweaked this one just a smidge. The crust was just fine. I didn't overbake it. I took it out before it was golden. It was not crispy but suited the dessert. With the main ingredients, I cut down on the brown sugar. I used about 2/3 cups only. These were delicious (not too sweet) and different! I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I thought these were a bit too sweet the first time I made them, so I reduced the brown sugar down to 2/3 cup, and omitted the confectioner's sugar. I also used chopped almonds instead of walnuts as a matter of personal preference. Very good occasional treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These have always been a hit whenever I've made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made these last night to take to a small dinner party and they all loved them and had 2nds and 3rds plus I was asked for the recipe. I did bake them in a 9 x 9 pan so had to bake about 12 to 15 minutes longer. They are delicious and I'm going to make more today. Thanks for the recipe Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These are heavenly! (and I'm not one who generally loves apricots or coconut). I would reduce the confectioners sugar for decoration to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very good. I liked being able to use up my dried apricots in a delicious recipe. I like thicker squares, so I used an 8x8 pan instead of 9x13. Turned out very well; nice and sweet but not too sweet. I like the mix of coconut and apricots. Since I made it thicker, it probably took another 25-30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
These are Delicious! I forgot to put on the confectioner's sugar.. but they are still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Because of the reviews that said these were too sweet, I made them with 3/4 cup sugar in the filling. They turned out really well. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe was very easy to prepare and does taste pretty good, but it is not like "to die for" amazing and nothing overly spectacular. What I do like however is that it is moist and holds together quite well. Make sure you add all the sugar it states as the apricots can be quite tart and the walnuts bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States