Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
4.5 stars actually. This recipe was quick to prepare and turned out well. Instead of apricot preserves, I used apricot "simply fruit" which may have been a little less sweet...it had the right amount of sweetness in the end. I also used canned apricots instead of dried which were juicier and may have made a little more sauce than originally intended. I added just a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce and served it with orzo pilaf and broccoli. Make sure to serve this with rice or pasta to go along with all of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ehhhh it was ok...made exactly as written as I always do when trying something new...IF I were to make this again for sure cut back on the preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe - served over couscous. I wanted a thicker sauce so I added a little corn starch slurry to it in the end and it thickened right up. It felt a little heavy on the thyme flavor, but I suspect that is because I used dried instead of fresh thyme (reduced to 1 tsp.). Next time I will probably cut back on the thyme a little more if using dried. Overall, unique, easy recipe with an interesting mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was not a winner in my household. My husband thought it was too sweet - even after I added the dijon as suggested. I don't think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I know, I know, I didn’t make this exactly as written, but I got as close as I could. I used canned chopped peaches and peach preserves. And I cut back on the preserves a bit because I didn’t want it to be too sweet. My version was quite good, as I’m sure it would have been using the apricots. Since my peaches didn’t need to soften, I put them in last just to warm them through, setting some aside for garnish, along with a garnish of fresh thyme instead of the parsley. I served this over Brazilian White Rice, also from this site. We both enjoyed this dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Fun and easy dish to make that impresses those that don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was wonderful, I didn't have apricot preserves so I sub with orange marble-ad. It turned out great! Served over brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I really loved the flavor of this dish but think I will use less apricots next time. The preserves gave it enough of the flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
next time i will add some dijon mustard like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
i am starting to think that the nice folks here on allrecipes just have lower food standards than i do... this is the most recent of many so-called 5star recipes i have tried, and it is really nothing special. i'm not gonna throw away the left overs, but maybe add some sriracha to try to counteract the sweetness. i would only recommend this if you already have all ingredients on hand; don't make a special trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States