Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ehhhh it was ok...made exactly as written as I always do when trying something new...IF I were to make this again for sure cut back on the preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4boys*the queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe - served over couscous. I wanted a thicker sauce so I added a little corn starch slurry to it in the end and it thickened right up. It felt a little heavy on the thyme flavor, but I suspect that is because I used dried instead of fresh thyme (reduced to 1 tsp.). Next time I will probably cut back on the thyme a little more if using dried. Overall, unique, easy recipe with an interesting mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was not a winner in my household. My husband thought it was too sweet - even after I added the dijon as suggested. I don't think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I know, I know, I didn’t make this exactly as written, but I got as close as I could. I used canned chopped peaches and peach preserves. And I cut back on the preserves a bit because I didn’t want it to be too sweet. My version was quite good, as I’m sure it would have been using the apricots. Since my peaches didn’t need to soften, I put them in last just to warm them through, setting some aside for garnish, along with a garnish of fresh thyme instead of the parsley. I served this over Brazilian White Rice, also from this site. We both enjoyed this dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Fun and easy dish to make that impresses those that don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was wonderful, I didn't have apricot preserves so I sub with orange marble-ad. It turned out great! Served over brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I really loved the flavor of this dish but think I will use less apricots next time. The preserves gave it enough of the flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
next time i will add some dijon mustard like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
i am starting to think that the nice folks here on allrecipes just have lower food standards than i do... this is the most recent of many so-called 5star recipes i have tried, and it is really nothing special. i'm not gonna throw away the left overs, but maybe add some sriracha to try to counteract the sweetness. i would only recommend this if you already have all ingredients on hand; don't make a special trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful! I use fresh apricot and added them durning the last 5-10 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN945N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States