Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Pretty good as written, but I left out the optional onions. I'm glad, because they had no business in this recipe. Needed a little something, so the second time I added some cayenne pepper, used skinless bone-in chicken, and baked in the oven @ 350, basting occasionally. Cover with foil to keep the sauce from burning. My hubby likes to buy different kinds of balsamic vinegar, so I used some that had figs in it. That was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It was excellent. The only thing I did was add some garlic when cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Vrey good recipe. The balsamic vinegar gives it tang, while the apricots give it sweetness. Served over rice or pasta, this dish will please the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this dish for my husband who is very picky--- he loves complex flavors. This dish was very easy to make. I did two things differently-- I added more fresh apricots, all sliced in halves. In order to cut down on the sweetness I used only a very large dollop of preserves as opposed to a full cup and I added 5 cloves, the cloves chopped in large pieces. I also let the liquid reduce to an almost glaze-like finish. Was fab! Over rice pilaf, served w/ French cut green beans and this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbolesnyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Hubby thought this was pretty good, even went back for thirds. I did use peaches instead of apricots because that is what I had on hand. Next time I will try it with the apricots, I'm sure that will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
family loved this of course I tweaked it a little based off other reviews and my families taste but it was a hit and easy to make this will be a repeat in our book! Love the mustard adding during the chicken browning and we added red pepper flakes to give it kick and have even left out the chunks of fruit all together an just use the preserves especially if you use apricot and pineapple preserves its sweet enough and spicey with the red pepper flakes and dont forget to add extra balsamic and chicken broth so you have plenty of the sauce for left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Eh, it was ok. Nothing special. No one in my family raved about it. There was nothing wrong with it but it won't be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I liked it but my family didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This did not turn out very well for me. It had a bit of a funky flavor, perhaps I did not allow the vinegar to cook long enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
this was pretty good, i thought it was too sweet, but everyone else loved it. next time i would cut back on the preserves and put some garlic and maybe some mustard in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States