Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Very yummy and extraordinarily easy to make! I used Catalina, which added zing, and used No Sugar Added apricot preserves--tasted more natural that way. My husband gobbled it up! Great for a meal you don't want to spend much time preparing. Later note: I've made this multiple times, and lately decided to try something new with it. I used chicken pieces instead of breasts, since I had a package on hand I needed to use, and I put this all in the slow cooker rather than the oven. I used fat-free Catalina and no-sugar added apricot preserves. I also added some minced garlic (from a jar). WOW!!! I think I liked the flavor even better this way, and the chicken was incredibly tender. The minced garlic added a little something extra that made the sauce incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I have been making this recipe for years but with a twist. I pound the chicken till it is very thin. Make stuffing (I use stove-top). Put a spoon fool of stuffing on top of the chicken and roll the chicken up. Then place the chicken in a casserole dish and cover with mixture. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I have been making this recipe since the early 1970's. It's a family favorite and I often make it with whole chicken cut into eighths or just boneless, skinless chicken thighs for pot luck dinners and as my contribution to parties. I recommend if you can find it to use Wishbone RED Russian dressing. Much less sweet taste than the pink Russian dressing. I live in Morris County, Denville, NJ and the Key Foods Store has this brand. I have recently found the Wishbone Red Russian dressing in the local Shop-Rite markets. I also use Lipton Onion Soup Mix. I have tried other brands and found them too salty or to intense taste of dried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
In an effort to cut some of the sugar and based on another reviewers suggestion, I used fat free Catalina dressing and Smuckers reduced sugar apricot jam and it was still to sweet for my taste. However hubby loved this recipe as it definitely satisfied his sweet tooth. NOTE: This is an excellent crockpot recipe with cook time of approximately 6 hours on low. Serve on a bed of rice, sprinkle with crushed peanuts and it's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I tried this because of the high marks from reviewers, & was not disappointed- and my somewhat picky husband loved it; however, it is virtually impossible to find Russian dressing & I did not want to add the pickle relish of 1000-Island.... so I did the homemade Russian dressing combo of ketchup & mayo with a 1:2 ratio; I cut the recipe down, so I used 1/4 cup ketchup mixed with 1/2 cup fat-free mayo & 3/4 cup apricot preserves; sounds like a weird combo at first, but it was excellent!!! Very tangy... I also used this on chicken strips instead of breasts, which cut down the baking time to 30 minutes & was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Wow! This is SO good! I first made this for my husband and mother-in-law, and was a little anxious to see how it turned out. I was not disappointed! Both my husband and mother-in-law loved it! The three of us easily devoured all six chicken breasts. Oh, I only found an 8oz. bottle of the dressing, and had just one packet of onion soup mix. It came out great that way. The second time I made it, I simply used one bottle of dressing (8oz.), one jar of apricot preserves (10oz.), and one packet of onion soup mix. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This is an easy and delicious recipe! It is wonderful with apricot preserves; however, I have also made it with raspberry preserves, and I think I actually prefer the raspberry. Both my husband and I love this recipe. It has become a regular in our household. (Delicious with rice pilaf!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is such great recipe. "What tender chicken!" everyone moaned -- with full mouths. So I made this "as written" the first couple of times and served it over brown rice. Always one to experiment, I added a few touches the third time I reached for this gem-of-a-recipe. Here's what I did: Lots more chicken (family pack). Used only one pkg. of dry onion soup mix, to which I added: the apricot preserves; 1/3 C. good-quality DRY Sherry (please, not "cooking Sherry"); 1 tsp. DRY mustard; 1 tsp. ground WHITE pepper; and 1 C. raisins. Also, I used "Light" Catalina Dressing. The beauty of this, though, is that Shirley's recipe is delicious as it is. But if you have some extra time and want to add a bit of flare, the sky's the limit! Cook time can be less, like 45 min., so be careful or chicken will dry out. Thank you Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
The recipe came out very good. I used frozen chicken breasts (did not defrost and cooked for about an hour), a "natural" onion soup mix, and spicy french dressing,and about half a large jar of apricot preserves. I think it would work well in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Very easy to make. So-so results. Good meal, but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States