Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My family loves this recipe!!! Any suggestions on what to do with all that leftover juice? I hate to waste it! Also, has anyone tried this recipe using beef...such as beef tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is easy and delicious......if you need to cut the sugar content (my husband is diabetic) I used sugar-free berry jam......and baked it with pineapple around the chicken.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have been using this exact recipe for years, but with chicken thighs, legs, and breasts. I always make a lot because it goes fast and it's great the following day. When I first heard what was in it I thought it sounded disgusting, but I had already eaten it, and it was delicious! So if you haven't tried it yet, or are skeptical because of the ingredients, don't be. I still get requests to make it after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My husband loves this chicken. Next time I'll fix rice to go with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Quick and easy, and undoubtedly will appeal to many palates. It's too sweet for my taste, but if you're making a dish with a cup of apricot preserves in it, you're probably looking for sweet. It is reminiscent of sweet and sour chicken, with the onion soup mix adding savory to the mix. I suspect it would work better in a crockpot, or perhaps not baked for 60 minutes. The chicken came out pretty dry for me. I would also consider using a juice sweetened 100% fruit spread, and perhaps less of it, in order to cut down on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The flavor is delicious. Apricot was not a favorite of ours until we tried this recipe. One caution about other reviewers' suggestions to cook in a crock pot. The first time, we did the crock pot method at low for about six hours and the chicken was way over-cooked and dry. So if using crock pot, cut down time to about 2 1/2 hours to 3 and check to ensure chicken stays moist. The second time, we did in traditional oven and I still managed to overcook the chicken. I think the reason is I don't use 6 breasts; I only use about 3 to feed just my hubby and me. So if using less chicken, cut back cooking time. Those errors are my fault, so no impact on this recipe. The flavor of the sauce on chicken and over rice is excellent! We'll definitely make it again and again! I also would serve this dish for company. Thanks, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Since it is boneless chicken breast, the flavor depends on the sauce or spices. To me, the sauce wasn't good enough to desire the dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have tried this recipe two ways, with the Wishbone Russian Dressing and with Catalina. Russian is harder to find sometimes, but I believe it to be clearly superior for this recipe over Catalina, which I like but not for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I had never tried Apricot Chicken before, and I really enjoyed it. I followed some reviewer advice and used only one package of the onion soup mix, and Catalina dressing instead of the Russian. Served it over some brown rice - awesome! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
In an effort to cut some of the sugar and based on another reviewers suggestion, I used fat free Catalina dressing and Smuckers reduced sugar apricot jam and it was still to sweet for my taste. However hubby loved this recipe as it definitely satisfied his sweet tooth. NOTE: This is an excellent crockpot recipe with cook time of approximately 6 hours on low. Serve on a bed of rice, sprinkle with crushed peanuts and it's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States