Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Okay, I have to admit that the list of ingredients had me worried. I would never have thought to combine onion soup mix with apricot preserves...and then add French dressing too? Wow, though...this dish came out fantastic! It is now in my top 10 favorites. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiCoAmazing

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is as easy as it is good! Incredible! Served for company and everyone raved - kids and adults alike. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent! Used 5 chicken breasts that I cleaned, butterflied, and pounded (not too thin). I also used 1c of fat free Catalina style dressing, 1c of Saucy Susan(apricot/peach galze/dipping sauce), and the onion soup mix. I prepared this in the morning and basically marinated the chicken in this mixture before baking. Sweet, sticky and delicious! Family inhaled this...will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My family loves this recipe!!! Any suggestions on what to do with all that leftover juice? I hate to waste it! Also, has anyone tried this recipe using beef...such as beef tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is easy and delicious......if you need to cut the sugar content (my husband is diabetic) I used sugar-free berry jam......and baked it with pineapple around the chicken.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have been using this exact recipe for years, but with chicken thighs, legs, and breasts. I always make a lot because it goes fast and it's great the following day. When I first heard what was in it I thought it sounded disgusting, but I had already eaten it, and it was delicious! So if you haven't tried it yet, or are skeptical because of the ingredients, don't be. I still get requests to make it after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My husband loves this chicken. Next time I'll fix rice to go with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Quick and easy, and undoubtedly will appeal to many palates. It's too sweet for my taste, but if you're making a dish with a cup of apricot preserves in it, you're probably looking for sweet. It is reminiscent of sweet and sour chicken, with the onion soup mix adding savory to the mix. I suspect it would work better in a crockpot, or perhaps not baked for 60 minutes. The chicken came out pretty dry for me. I would also consider using a juice sweetened 100% fruit spread, and perhaps less of it, in order to cut down on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The flavor is delicious. Apricot was not a favorite of ours until we tried this recipe. One caution about other reviewers' suggestions to cook in a crock pot. The first time, we did the crock pot method at low for about six hours and the chicken was way over-cooked and dry. So if using crock pot, cut down time to about 2 1/2 hours to 3 and check to ensure chicken stays moist. The second time, we did in traditional oven and I still managed to overcook the chicken. I think the reason is I don't use 6 breasts; I only use about 3 to feed just my hubby and me. So if using less chicken, cut back cooking time. Those errors are my fault, so no impact on this recipe. The flavor of the sauce on chicken and over rice is excellent! We'll definitely make it again and again! I also would serve this dish for company. Thanks, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Since it is boneless chicken breast, the flavor depends on the sauce or spices. To me, the sauce wasn't good enough to desire the dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States