Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe!! Easy to prep and yummy! I will have to try some of the suggestions from others next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. My only suggestion is to use a single use aluminum baking pan as it is a chore to clean up. The recipe is delicious and I prepared fresh green beans and new potatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
A definite crowd pleaser, and so easy to make . My kids ask for this often. The sauce goes well when poured over rice or other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't have enough apricot preserves so in it's place I used the same amount of some apple chutney, and the rest of the recipe was the same. Turned out really good. I served it over brown rice. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I modified a bit, it made lots of sauce so I saved some and used later. I used skinless thighs, only one onion soup mix and red Russian dressing only 8 oz. baked for 1&1/2 hours covered, then flipped them, put back in oven 30+minutes. This is the only way I can tolerate chicken thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
SO easy and amazing! Like another reviewer said I just use the small bottle of Russian (I think it's 8oz)and its perfect. It does come out abit runny which it would be nice if the sauce stayed thicker. Maybe some day I will try to mix in cornstarch or flour and see what happens :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made the recipe according to the directions, and it turned out pretty bland. I don't know if it was the brand of Russian dressing I used (Kroger brand), but I think I may look for a different recipe for this dish in the future. I couldn't taste the apricot at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Delicious and very easy to make. Definitely a "make again" in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This dish is very forgiving—you can easily substitute thousand island dressing for the Russian dressing, vary the amounts of the ingredients to taste, use different chicken parts, or move the whole thing to a crock pot. The crock pot version is juicier than the oven version but still very good. Chicken thighs work very well in this recipe and are usually cheaper than breasts. I've tried searing the chicken before combining with the other ingredients, but that doesn't seem to make enough of a difference to bother with. I've also tried adding dried apricots, which was very successful. My favorite version so far has been 12 chicken thighs, 1 bottle of thousand island dressing, 1 envelope of onion-soup mix, 1 jar of apricot jam, and 8 ounces of diced dried apricots, all cooked in a crock pot on high for four hours. Overall, this is a good basic, easy recipe that's a big hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States