Apricot Cheese Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I haven't made this in a couple of years and forgot how good it was. Oh boy I just ate 2 warm slices sooo good! I left out dates as I'm not fond of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this for breakfast. Instead of hot water for the apricot soak, I used orange juice. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was delicious and easy!. I substituted golden and regular raisins, since I didn't have any dates. I increased the recipe by one half and baked it in a bundt cake pan. It took slightly under 1 hour to be done. The house smelled wonderful! It had more of a cake texture, but it was not overly sweet. The dried fruit balanced the "loaf" perfectly. I will be making this again, probably experimenting with different types of dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I just went back for another slice, mmm! This loaf came out wonderful, studded with colorful chunks of fruit and moist with a slight sour tang of the cream cheese. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and used unsalted butter-not margarine. Since I used dates that were pre-chopped in sugar (to keep from sticking together), I lightened up on the sugar a tad. I didn't use a cup of boiling water either, just enough to submerge all of the apricots. I will absolutely make this tasty loaf again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I made this recipe as muffins and I do think it turned out as it should but, I just didn't love them. That said, I brought them in to work and a few people ate most of them. If you LOVE dates and dried apricots, you will probably LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I discovered this recipe when searching for something new to replace my old standard pumpkin bread. The cream cheese really is the key here, I think. It gives the batter a little 'kick' and makes it more moist. I can even see this batter being used with different fruits. I think next I will try it with dried sweetened cranberries and the dates. I might even try throwing in some coconut! This got good reviews from everyone and it really is different. two hints: I found that I did not need to bake it quite as long as the recipe calls for - I took mine out 10 minutes early, and - use California apricots instead of the more common mediterranean or turkish apricots. They're getting harder to find these days it seems (probably because they're more expensive) but they are well worth it - they are moister, sweeter, a more vibrant color, and don't seem to have the sulfites that the imported ones have. (I can tell the difference because I have asthma and sulfites really get to me - I can't even eat the Turkish apricots.) You have to read the fine print on the packaging, but it should be fairly easy to find on the package whether they're imported, or from California. I'm going to be making lots of this loaf for gifts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I made this for a women's brunch at my church, and it received rave reviews. The cream cheese in the batter gave it a rich quality that many quick breads don't seem to have. And the apricots and dates were a nice combination. Thanks for a great recipe that I'm sure to use many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I have given this loaf as a gift, and those who have received it all rave about it. When sliced, it is a very attractive looking bread. It also keeps well, if you don't devour it too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States