Apricot Brown Sugar Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was easy & delicious. I did use spicy mustard instead of the mustard powder, and I used my convection oven at 250 degrees F. I would recommend very thoroughly lining your pan for easy clean-up. The juices went under the foil & glued it to the pan. Not a fun clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was very very good! This was my first year bringing the ham to our easter family gathering and so I was nervous that it would turn out. I had a 7.5 lb dearborn fully cooked ham and used a whole jar of apricot jam, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 2 heaping tablespoons of whole grain mustard and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. I poured half of the glaze on the ham and let cook about 2 hours at 275 degrees covered in foil. Then I took the foil off, poured the rest of the glaze over and let cook about close to one more hour. It was sweet and savory and just delicious. Everyone loved it and volunteered me to make the ham again next year! I might try and make it in the crock pot like some others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tifbar

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I'm giving this a 10 star rating.. Its just that good! Forget your pineapple slices and cloves.. This is it! Didnt have mustard powder so I used Dijon Mustard and it was great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this with a small ham and it was fantastic. The leftovers made a super tasty ham salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
The glaze in this recipe was wonderful and this was super easy to make. I did have a problem with the cooking instructions though. I baked my ham at 275, 14 min. per lb. and the middle was stone cold. I will make this again but I will definitely adjust the time and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best way to glaze and cook the ham. Used spicy brown mustard instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I cooked two half hams at Christmas with this recipes and they were the best hams ever. I will only use this recipe when making a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made a great ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I found the juice didn't soak in and was just in a puddle at the bottom. Also, after 14 minutes per pound (I had a 2lb ham) the inside was still cold. I didn't have a spiral cut ham though so this could be why these things happened. I salvaged it by cranking up the heat to 400, redipping the ham in the glaze and cooking it uncovered for 10 minutes, the outside crisped up nicely and had good flavor. I will retry this recipe with a spiral ham to see if it cooks faster and soaks up more of the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used Crushed pineapple with a little juice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States