Apricot Brown Sugar Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
So simple yet so very good! I made this for our Easter dinner today, and it was delicious! Because I needed my oven for other cooking projects, I put my precooked spiral ham in the crockpot, set it on low, and three hours later had a ham that was just-right sweet, tender, juicy. The juice that collected made the best ham gravy; all I had to do was put it in a sauce pan, make a slurry of cornstarch and water, added it to the juices and cooked until thickened. No other season required. Perfect! This will be the way I make baked ham from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My ham was smaller, but I went ahead & used the full amount of glaze. We loved the flavor, and my ham was tender & juicy & the glaze was a sweet & tangy complement to the ham. I used 2 teaspoons regular mustard in place of the dry mustard.Great recipe Roz21, and I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was very good coating for ham. I like the idea of wrapping the ham in foil with the glaze while it cooks. I just added all of the glaze at the beginning and didn't unwrap it towards the end. This might also be good using pineapple preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Exceptional!! I myself am not a huge ham fan~ this one I am! I used a regular bone in ham, not a spiral cut. I also decided to use my crock pot. I put a small bit (about 5 oz) of soda (I used Diet Sierra Mist) so it would not cook to the bottom. I poked the ham all over and would from time to time using a baster, put the juice into the ham. I used more than what was called for as far as the apricot jam (preserves)~ probably close to doubled it. I also added about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of honey and about 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. I cooked it on high for about four hours, but it was done before that (but did not dry out at all). My entire family loved it, my kids too~ dad even jumped online to get the recipe so he could save it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
It seems to be my job to cook hams during the holidays. I tried this one at Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. I used a huge 26 pound ham, so I had to use a little more. I also used my old reliable charcoal grill instead of baking the ham. My family will see to it that I make this ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This ham was great. Everybody loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. The ham gravy was delicious--I added extra apricot jam to the juice to really bring out the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best way to glaze and cook the ham. Used spicy brown mustard instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I used a brown sugar and mustard glaze as I had no apricot jam and it turned out great. Will use this recipe every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
That was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was the best ham ever!!! I've been looking for a ham recipe and FINALLY found one! I used a spiral cut ham, put most of the glaze on, wrapped my ham in foil and popped it in the oven. About 1/2 hour before serving, I added the remaining glaze. Everyone was amazed at the flavor yet it was soooo easy. I used the recipe as is. Don't change a thing. This recipe is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States