Apricot Brandy Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Excellent cake and indeed did freeze well as it spent 5 days well-wrapped in the freezer before being defrosted and decorated. I baked it as one layer in a Wilton "lamb" pan. It was somewhat heavy (unbleached all purpose flour) but moist and delicious. The recipe is versatile as well. Since I did not have apricot brandy on hand, I soaked a few dried apricots in rum then pureed them in my food processor. Worked beautifully! One guest asked for the recipe and I gave her a printed copy noting my ingredient adjustment. Nice Spring time flavors that really "hit the spot" for our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LR
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent pound cake! I doubled up on most of the extracts as suggested by some. Made it for my nephews 28th birthday. my sister called and asked what mojo had I put in the batter...lol. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I made it for an office party, and it got rave reviews. It was a real crowd-pleaser. I made mine with apricot nectar rather than brandy, but added in a couple of big spoonfuls of apricot preserves. I also used an apricot almond glaze, made with 1/4 cup apricot nector, 1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. I loved the texture and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Love, love this recipe!! I have the exact recipe given to me by my great-grandmother!! You can not go wrong with this recipe--it is absolutely Delicious!! At the bottom of my recipe, my great-grandmother wrote--"Keeps well-If you hide it!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Love this cake it is so moist and favorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family has made this cake for decades; the recipe from my grandmother is exactly the same except for 1/2 tsp. almond extract and baking 80 minutes instead of 60. The real key to this recipe is aging: take the finished cake, once cool, and wrap it in a tea towel dipped in apricot brandy. Place the wrapped cake in an air-tight container and store in a cool, dry place for 2-3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very tasty cake. My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is one of the best pound cakes I have ever had, very moist and flavourful. Next time will add chopped dried apricots, we love apricots! I used apricot nectar instead of brandy because they were gifts for families with young children. I made 5 mini loaves, baked at 325 for 55 minutes. 4 for my sons teachers, 1 for us! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I have had people offer to pay me to make them this cake; it's extremely moist and full of great flavors. It's become a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene Conley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States