Apricot Brandy Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is one of the best pound cakes I have ever had, very moist and flavourful. Next time will add chopped dried apricots, we love apricots! I used apricot nectar instead of brandy because they were gifts for families with young children. I made 5 mini loaves, baked at 325 for 55 minutes. 4 for my sons teachers, 1 for us! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I have the same recipe and this is delicious! Full of flavor. The only difference(which is optional) all 1/2 C. chopped apricots that are lightly floured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinWebster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
WOW, great flavor and texture. This was luscious, Melissa.We loved the combination of flavors provided by the various extracts. Your grandpa sure knew his way around the kitchen to come up with this great cake! I served it with apricot sauce and a dollop of whipped cream at our dinner party. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is an excellent cake. Very moist.I increased all the extracts as I like very flavorful cakes (I always increase the extracts in a recipe) Do not omit any ingredients. My husband loved it! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I have had people offer to pay me to make them this cake; it's extremely moist and full of great flavors. It's become a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene Conley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This tasted wonderful-very moist and flavorful. I can't stop eating it! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family has made this cake for decades; the recipe from my grandmother is exactly the same except for 1/2 tsp. almond extract and baking 80 minutes instead of 60. The real key to this recipe is aging: take the finished cake, once cool, and wrap it in a tea towel dipped in apricot brandy. Place the wrapped cake in an air-tight container and store in a cool, dry place for 2-3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this recipe last year and it's excellent! Try cubing for a chocolate fondue or chocolate fountain dessert night. You can freeze the cubes for future use, but they also make a great frozen treat. Yumm! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very tasty cake. My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States