Apricot Brandy Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is my new go-to recipe. Easy to make, smells delish, looks great out of the pan and tastes wonderful. Have made it several times and not a crumb left over! I made a glaze of Powdered Sugar, a dash of lemon extract, almond extract (or vanilla), and either the apricot nectur or apricot brandy. Drizzled over the cake - YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this cake for co-workers and I am so glad I did! This is my new go to pound cake recipe. Moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I read this twice before making the first one...without any changes. It was great with just a powdered sugar dusting. I put a paper lace mat on top before dusting to add a bit of glam. I'm baking another right now to take to a church meeting tonight. This one will have a light apricot glaze drizzled over it with a few sliced almonds on top. The cake is SOOO good as it is, but a friend wants to make one usibg cherry brandy. YUM, too, I bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I think I have spent years trying to hide a "cake mix taste" and this one almost accomplishes. Also, it is wonderful to the taste buds and most people don't care if it comes from a mix or not. Guess I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist where baking is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Joyce Carcarra, the picture you entered of this cake shows the cake to be the most beautifully decorated cake i have ever seen! mine wasn't as beautiful, but it tasted as good as yours looked. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingWithLuv
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This pound cake tastes fantastic! And Ive never been a fan of pound cake before. The reason I tried this recipe is because I wanted to use my new pumpkin shaped bundt pans and Ive tried other types of cakes from ooey gooey to light and airy but the pound cake kept its shape and was very attractive after I decorated the top with fondant. Then I was really really pleasantly surprised at how flavorful and moist it was. The only thing I did different was putting some food coloring in the cake batter to make it pumpkin colored. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingWithLuv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Daysee
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Loved this one for fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Really moist cake! Was loved by family and friends. I bought it as a dish to pass. I used burnt butter frosting from this sight. I changed it slightly. Instead of using milk to thin the frosting I used part apricot brandy and part hot water and put on warm cake after removing from pan. This frosting spreads much better on warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Given that a yellow boxed cake mix will almost always identify itself to the taste buds, this is very good--again, for a yellow cake mix. What caught my eye on this cake was that sour cream provided the only fat--no butter or shortening. I'm sure this is why the crumb was a little different, kind of like a sponge cake. I substituted apricot nectar for the apricot brandy and in addition to the other extracts, 1/2 tsp. of butter flavoring (anything to try and cover up that dead giveaway cake mix taste!). I made it in a tube pan, then glazed it, top side up, with a mixture of powdered sugar, apricot nectar and a dribble of corn syrup. It's a pretty cake, tall and delicately yellow, with a balanced blend of flavors, none of them dominant. Light and moist, this is tasty and satisfying on it's own and not overly sweet. It would also be the perfect cake to use in a trifle or just topped with fruit and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good cake.....everone loved it....I used a cup of powered sugar and a little apricot nectar to make a glaze....it was great....also ominted the brandy and used apricot nctar in it's place.........wow.....it was even better....not that it is not good the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States