Apricot Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Awesomely delicious! I put 1/4 t. almond extract in the base and almonds on top, made half w/raspberry and 1/2 w/apricot. Quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
Everyone loved these. The second baking took a little longer than the recipe indicates. I've also tried this using raspberry preserves. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
OH MY GOD!!! I made these as part of a friends wedding buffet, and they were SCARFED DOWN!!! Also, I included them in my holiday cookie tray for work, and they were the first ones gone. Great easy recipe--reminds me of my Hungarian grandmothers Linzer cookies! :-) A MUST TRY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
EXCELLENT!! These are so incredible - people just rave over these when I make them. Thank you Marian for this delicious cookie bar!! P.S. Not sure what the last lady did...but I bet money is was the turkey NOT the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
These are very addicting for me! My family members didn't love them as much, but I have to be careful in having them around! I have tried them with pecans also, but really like English walnuts better on these. Thanks Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is a keeper. I, too, had to bake the 2nd go-around much longer, as the crust was too soft. But the end result was worth the extra time. I used toasted almonds in place of walnuts, as hubby is allergic to walnuts. And, I used fresh apricots mixed w/sugar blended in a food processor and cooked for 5 minutes in lieu of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
It is hard to stop at just one! I used almonds rather than walnuts, and baked it longer the first time (it just looked un-done). Next time I make these, I probably will grease the pan too, because they are hard to get out once they've cooled! I can't wait to share these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
These were really really good. Made my own quick preserves to put on top...didn't have any nus so I put coconut on top...really yummy...like shortbread with an apricot/coconut topping...will do again with other toppings Have tried with lingonberry preserves with a oatmeal/brown sugar toppng...these came out wonderful...tart yet sweet...perfect for a Norwegian potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my sister (she is on a liver transplant list) because it is so VERY VERY low sodium -- only sodium is from the egg. I used one whole egg instead of the 2 yolks and 1/2 graham flour and 1/2 white. Used 1/2 jar of apricot preserves and sliced almonds. It was great! Next batch will be with seedless blackberry preserves and chopped walnuts that I have on hand, but I'm afraid the sliced almonds (and maybe the part hertier flour) really made this. I made 5 batches of low/no sodium cookies and this was the best to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM! The crust is absolutely fabulous! I may try it without the walnuts next time though. Or maybe with almonds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States