Apricot Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
OH MY GOD!!! I made these as part of a friends wedding buffet, and they were SCARFED DOWN!!! Also, I included them in my holiday cookie tray for work, and they were the first ones gone. Great easy recipe--reminds me of my Hungarian grandmothers Linzer cookies! :-) A MUST TRY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
Everyone loved these. The second baking took a little longer than the recipe indicates. I've also tried this using raspberry preserves. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are great!!! I did change the recipe a bit though. I did half with the apricot preserves and half with strwberry preserves, Iwas curious to see how it came out with something other then apricot preserves. Well both rocked, I liked the strawberry better and hubby preferred the apricot. Win, win! Can't wait to try with cherry or raspberry preserves! I also put an oatmeal, brown sugar crumb topping instead of the nuts on top. I will cook the crust longer next time. WARNING!!!! If you arn't a fan of very sweet foods than this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
EXCELLENT!! These are so incredible - people just rave over these when I make them. Thank you Marian for this delicious cookie bar!! P.S. Not sure what the last lady did...but I bet money is was the turkey NOT the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is a keeper. I, too, had to bake the 2nd go-around much longer, as the crust was too soft. But the end result was worth the extra time. I used toasted almonds in place of walnuts, as hubby is allergic to walnuts. And, I used fresh apricots mixed w/sugar blended in a food processor and cooked for 5 minutes in lieu of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
These were really really good. Made my own quick preserves to put on top...didn't have any nus so I put coconut on top...really yummy...like shortbread with an apricot/coconut topping...will do again with other toppings Have tried with lingonberry preserves with a oatmeal/brown sugar toppng...these came out wonderful...tart yet sweet...perfect for a Norwegian potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
These were very good. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture and I used non-stick spray to prepare the baking pan. Think I'd prefer to toast the nuts and just put them on the cut bars instead of sprinkling them on the top and THEN cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and two peple threw up. It could have been my turkey, but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These were delicious, but like other reviewers noted the crust needs extra bake time. I used homemade strawberry preserves topped with toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
It is hard to stop at just one! I used almonds rather than walnuts, and baked it longer the first time (it just looked un-done). Next time I make these, I probably will grease the pan too, because they are hard to get out once they've cooled! I can't wait to share these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States