Apricot Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I made these and they were exactly what I was looking for. They turned out delicious! I made a second batch using Raspberry Preserves in place of the Apricot, just because not everyone likes apricots. They were both a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These were delicious, but like other reviewers noted the crust needs extra bake time. I used homemade strawberry preserves topped with toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are great!!! I did change the recipe a bit though. I did half with the apricot preserves and half with strwberry preserves, Iwas curious to see how it came out with something other then apricot preserves. Well both rocked, I liked the strawberry better and hubby preferred the apricot. Win, win! Can't wait to try with cherry or raspberry preserves! I also put an oatmeal, brown sugar crumb topping instead of the nuts on top. I will cook the crust longer next time. WARNING!!!! If you arn't a fan of very sweet foods than this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
YUM! These were terrific. I made them as the recipe directed, but I did add extra pecans (not walnuts) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I found these very dry and almost impossible to get out of the pan without digging them out. Directions to return to the oven for "Up to 15 minutes" was very vague....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These taste OK but the crust doesn't seem done enough even though after turning oven down to 250 degrees, I left it in 23 min. rather than 15 and it still doesn't seem done. If I make again, I will bake for 30 min. on 350 before turning down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM! The crust is absolutely fabulous! I may try it without the walnuts next time though. Or maybe with almonds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I tried these to use up a huge jar of apricot preserves and some pine nuts that needed to go. I toasted the pine nuts during the first bake (dry skillet on medium for a few minutes, shaking & flipping about every 30 seconds). I thought the bars were pretty good. Two flaws for me: 1, they're a little too sweet for my taste and 2, the baking times didn't work for me - the bars *looked* nicely done with the instructed times, but the middle was still really soft and gooey when I cut into them. I did forget to score the bars before the second bake, so maybe that's my issue. They're back in the oven again (missing one piece!) and I'm afraid to burn the edges while trying to get the middle cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
These were very good. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture and I used non-stick spray to prepare the baking pan. Think I'd prefer to toast the nuts and just put them on the cut bars instead of sprinkling them on the top and THEN cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my sister (she is on a liver transplant list) because it is so VERY VERY low sodium -- only sodium is from the egg. I used one whole egg instead of the 2 yolks and 1/2 graham flour and 1/2 white. Used 1/2 jar of apricot preserves and sliced almonds. It was great! Next batch will be with seedless blackberry preserves and chopped walnuts that I have on hand, but I'm afraid the sliced almonds (and maybe the part hertier flour) really made this. I made 5 batches of low/no sodium cookies and this was the best to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States