Apricot Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Delicious. BUT! These are a sticky, gooey mess that's impossible to roll into balls if the recipe is followed. I wish I had read the reviews, but I printed the recipe years ago and was working from it. Entirely too much condensed milk! I had to double the coconut, and still had to refrigerate before making into very soft balls. I am disappointed in this recipe for these reasons, but the flavor is great. I added 1/4 tsp almond extract to enhance the apricot flavor. This is not enough liquid to make these as gooey as they are. Just add 1/2 the amount of condensed milk then add the rest only as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LL
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very yummy and easy! I chopped apricots, california figs, and sliced almonds in a blender, and mixed it all with some of the coconut and just enough condensed milk to make it stick. Then I rolled it in chopped almonds/coconut for a slightly crunchy exterior - they're super sweet so I didn't add any sugar. And they definitely taste better cold :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Love all the thing separately, but apparently not together. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I love these! I took them to work & everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I served these at a holiday party at my home and guests were telling me that they don't even like apricot..but LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
So easy and a welcomed addition to my annual array of Christmas goodies! I made the recipe exactly as shown, but added some graham cracker crumbs (about 1/4 cup) to the mixture to make it a bit more workable, and I have to say it was delicious cut the sweetness a bit. I rolled them very small (1/3 inch)and then rolled half in coconut, and the other half in graham cracker crumbs to add a bit of variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These were delicious!! i was a bit unsure about the amount of condensed milk, so just added a bit at a time until the mixture seemed right - i'm so glad i didn't pour the whole can in!! otherwise fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judiroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good buy almost cloyingly sweet. Completely easy to make tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
The canned milk made this recipe runny. I think the next time I make this recipe will use only half of the canned milk. and cut the brown sugar in half. It is quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These were way to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States