Apricot Amaretto Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I think those who found these spread too much were using real butter. It melts faster than shortening or margarine. Cookies made with shortening or margarine are thicker and often chewier than those made with butter. I made these with margarine and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This cookie was excellent. It was hard to eat just one. I toasted the almonds before chopping and adding to the recipe. Also used almond flavoring instead of amaretto. They disappeared. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Great cookie!! My first pan came out a little flat so I had to add more flour(about 1/2 c. more) for them to puff. Nice taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
While these cookies were really good and seriously addicting, they came out very flat. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 T almond extract instead of amaretto, as well as used 2 bags of cinnamon instant oatmeal in addition to the regular quick oats, as I ran out of them and needed a little bit more oatmeal. I thought they were sweet enough on their own (probably due to the addition of the cinnamon oatmeal) so I didn't put any glaze on top. Next time I may add more flour and maybe less butter as they ended up a little bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really, really loved this recipe. For me, they came out crunchy and a little bit crumbly, but they were very good like that. I think a bit of the apricot flavor was lost under the taste of almond (though I'm a bit biased- I'm very fond of apricot) so next time I make these I think I will try and make an apricot icing for them as well instead of the regular, almond flavor icing. Also, I recommend taking great care if you're going to pack them for shipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made a few modifications to this recipe. (1) I don't think it needs the icing. I made half of them with an icing and half without and I think the cookies without the icing are better. Plus the proportions recommended for the icing are off. If you use the recommended 2 cups confectioner's sugar and 2 tablespoons amaretto, you will get a block of powdered sugar. In order to get something with a drizzly consistency, I would recommend something like 3/4 of a cup confectioner's sugar, 3 tablespoons amaretto. You could even add vanilla extract or maple syrup to make it more liquidy. (2) Instead of using 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup butter. I almost always substitute applesauce for shortening when I bake and it only improves the flavor. (3) I increased the flour by 1/2 cup. (4) Instead of mixing the apricots in with the recipe, I pushed a dried apricot on top of the cookie as I was putting them on the baking sheet. (5) I added a dash of cinnamon (never hurts, right?). I baked the cookies for 8 minutes exactly and they came out great. Chewy and delicious. I think the cookies without icing are five stars but with the icing are only four stars. I think the icing is too sweet and the amaretto flavor overpowers the other flavors in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
They "melted" in the oven. Definately need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These are very good! Very chewy. I used the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Definitely needs more flour or other dry ingredient - cookie was put on pan nicely rounded and went shlorb over the next 10 minutes. I turned the heat down to avoid burning the small puddles of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good but did spread. Maybe use one stick butter and one stick margarine b/c the real butter flavor is very good. I made without the glaze and liked the cookies that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States