Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I used my crock pot and fresh apples from my farm. I used 3 pounds apples, cored, peeled and cut into chunks, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and a few sprinkles of cinnimon. Cook on high for 4 -5 hours, just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Excellent! I only used a dash or two of sugar and added a couple of 4" cinnamon sticks to the simmering apples (mmmm!). I didn't process the apples - I mashed them up with my potato masher for a great chunky applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is very tasty applesauce! I agree with the other posts about cutting back on the sugar. As it does depend on the apples your using. I would suggest that when you add the sugar, start with 1/4 c., add a little bit more sugar as you go along, tasting with each addition of more sugar. You can pretty much judge at that point how sweet you want it. I also added cinnamon. I also strained the apples before processing. There's nothing like fresh applesauce, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
YUMMY! This was a big hit with my whole family. My kids are fighting right now over who gets to eat the last bit of applesauce. I drained the water once the apples were tender. Didn't need to put them in the blender, just stirred with a whisk and the consistency came out perfect. I added about 3 Tbs. brown sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very good. I put 1 cup brown sugar instead white and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This was the best applesauce I've ever tasted. I would suggest cutting back on the sugar, though. It may have been that I had very sweet apples. SUGGESTION: Save the apple broth after cooking the apples. You can make cidar or something with it. I used it in place of plain water for steamed rice a couple of days later. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Great, and so easy to make! It does take a bit longer than the recipe says, however. Next time, I'm going to make it in the slow cooker. It was a bit too watery, so don't use too much water! Try it with cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Great recipe. EASY, I used macintosh apples with one granny smith. I did not put in the food processor or food mill. Did not have to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. I read the reviews first & cut back on the sugar. I'm using sweet eating apples so I added maybe 4 tablespoons of sugar & a little cinnamon. I highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Great applesauce recipe. I drained off the water and put the apples in my blender. Mine was sweet enough so that no sugar was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States