Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I never knew applesauce was so delicious until I made it myself! I used Jonathan apples (NOT peeled or cored), filled a 12 quart stockpot, added just a bit of water (half cup?) and just a bit of sugar (half cup?) and sprinkled on the cinnamon. Let it simmer for an hour or two, stirring it down occasionally, then put it through my kitchenaid fruit & veggie strainer, and canned it in a waterbath canner. It's so much better than anything you can buy at the store. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
My 7 year old just made this, and it and it's delicious! We only added about 1/2 cup of sugar, and we DID NOT PEEL THE APPLES!! I used my blender to puree the cooked apples, and it's super smooth. Leaving the skin on didn't affect the texture at all, and it left in all the great vitamins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Perfect for my homemade latkes! I strained some of the water out and used my immersion blender. Cut back a lot on the sugar because the apples I used were super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I don't know if it was my apples, or if the lemon juice just really comes through in this, but I found it a bit tart. I guess I could have added more sugar, but the taste was a little off. The second time I make this I'm going to do it in the slow cooker without the lemon. UPDATE: I made this a second time in the slow cooker and barely had to add any sugar. I mashed it with a potato masher for a chunky applesauce and added a heavy sprinkling of cinnamon. This is how I'm going to make it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent & easy recipe to eat right away, freeze or can. For 20 years I've peeled & cored my apples & placed them in microwave w/1/4 Cup of water for 11-12 minutes on HI. Simply remove bowl from oven, mash & add sugar & spices as preferred. We like our sauce on the chunky side. I often toss in a handfull of Red Hots candy in place of sugar & cinnamon. It adds a rosy color. This year I used Honey Crisp apples....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to make and very good. I boiled several granny smith apples until they were translucent. I picked up the apples with a slotted spoon and put them into a bowl. The apples broke apart as I stirred. Added 1/2 cup sugar, lemon juice, and cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good and very easy. I only put in 1/2 cup of sugar and about a half tablespoon of cinnamon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
SKIP the sugar altogether, especially if you're using a sweeter apple. There's no need for any sugar at all. I also use apple cider instead of the water (and cut back on the liquid - 1 cup maximum). It's incredibly easy if you core and peel the apples and put them in a crockpot overnight on low. No stirring, just let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe and tastes great! This was super easy and a great way to use up some apples that were on their last leg. I only had 1 lb of apples so I just barely covered with water as the written part of the recipe states and add just a little under a 1/4C of sugar (I just added a few teaspoons of sugar to taste approx. 1/4C) and the juice of 1/2 of a lemon. I also added a couple of cinnamon sticks. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I much prefer applesauce without all the added sugar. I leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States