Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Didn`t add the lemon juice, and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Not sure how much sugar I used... I just sorta added until I was happy. My Japanese friends, teachers, and students all loved this. They`ve NEVER had applesauce before. My Canadian friend also thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Yum! I left the skins on and just cored the apples. I used an immersion blender to mix. I used Granny Smith apples and doubled the recipe. It filled four widemouth bottles which I steam canned for 20 minutes after cooking the apples and adding the sugar. I also only used about half of the cooking liquid. If you put the sauce in bottles right away you don't need the lemon juice. Mine turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I had some apples left over from visiting the orchard that were getting soft. I made this recipe and the whole family loved it. I think its going to become an annual tradition at my house. It was the best when it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
The first time I used golden delicious apples and lowered the amount of sugar and it was just ok. We used cinnamon to make it better. The second time I made this I used Granny Smith apples and kept the amount of sugar as stated in the recipe and it was soooo good!!! We didn't need any cinnamon that time. I will never use store bought applesauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Good recipe. Added about 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
YUMMY! This was a big hit with my whole family. My kids are fighting right now over who gets to eat the last bit of applesauce. I drained the water once the apples were tender. Didn't need to put them in the blender, just stirred with a whisk and the consistency came out perfect. I added about 3 Tbs. brown sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe has quickly become a family favorite. I used a potato masher to make the sauce more chunky as another reviewer mentioned. I also used Granny Smith apples so I thought the sugar amount was fine. Sprinkle cinnamon once in the serving bowl and you have a simple yet impressive dish to compliment any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Great, and so easy to make! It does take a bit longer than the recipe says, however. Next time, I'm going to make it in the slow cooker. It was a bit too watery, so don't use too much water! Try it with cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Excellent! I only used a dash or two of sugar and added a couple of 4" cinnamon sticks to the simmering apples (mmmm!). I didn't process the apples - I mashed them up with my potato masher for a great chunky applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Great recipe. EASY, I used macintosh apples with one granny smith. I did not put in the food processor or food mill. Did not have to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States